St. Bonaventure Men Claim Second Consecutive A-10 Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


GENEVA, OHIO – After four days of competition, the St. Bonaventure men earned their second consecutive championship title at the Atlantic 10 Men's Swimming and Diving Championship in Geneva, Ohio.

Leading the way for St. Bonaventure, who finished with 718 team points, was sophomore Michael Pilyugin. Pilyugin was named the Most Outstanding Performer after winning six gold medals in the meet along with setting individual meet records in the 200-yd freestyle (1:36.35) and the 200-yd backstroke (1:45.14). Pilyugin also finished first in the 100-yd backstroke (48.54) and was a member of three A-10 record setting relay teams (200-yd freestyle, 400-yd freestyle and 800-yd freestyle).

La Salle’s Mattias Glenesk was honored as the Most Outstanding Rookie Performer after finishing fifth overall in the 500-yd freestyle (4:30.31) along with breaking an A-10 record that had stood for 31 years in the 1,650-yd freestyle with a time of 15:20.48. Massachusetts’ Joshua Koppel was named the meet’s Most Outstanding Diver after placing first in both the men’s 1-meter dive (310.70) and the 3-meter dive (303.75).

Also standing out in today’s finals was St. Bonaventure’s Viacheslav Shchukin along with La Salle’s Johan Roth and George Mason’s Danny Camozzo. Shchukin posted an A-10 record time of 43.42 in the 100-yd freestyle while La Salle’s Johan Roth posted an NCAA “B” Cut in the 200-yd breaststroke with a time of 1:59.15 en route to earning gold in the event. Camozzo recorded an A-10 record time of 1:47.36 in the 200-yd butterfly.

Runner-up Massachusetts finished with 624 points followed by George Mason (591), La Salle (403), Saint Louis (385), George Washington (366) and Fordham (284).

2014 A-10 Swimming & Diving Awards

Most Outstanding Performer: Michael Pilyugin, St. Bonaventure

Most Outstanding Rookie: Mattias Glenesk, La Salle

Most Outstanding Diver: Joshua Koppel, Massachusetts

Coach of the Year: Sean McNamee, St. Bonaventure

Diving Coach of the Year: Mandy Hixon, Massachusetts

More From A-10 Swimming & Diving