Duquesne Defends A-10 Women's Cross Country Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Photo Gallery

Video Recap


PITTSBURGH —  The Duquesne Dukes captured the 2014 Atlantic 10 Women’s Cross Country Championship Saturday morning with 58 points and an average time of 18:08.52 to win their second straight A-10 title. La Salle’s Morgan Szekely was the individual winner with a time of 17:31.2. The Women’s 5K race was held at Schenley Park and hosted by Duquesne University.

Duquesne finished with four competitors in the top 20, including Valerie Palermo, Danica Snyder and Jenny Delsignore who all finished in the top 10 to help the Dukes to their second straight women’s cross country championship.

Duquesne coach Cailtin Cotter won Coach of the Year honors for the Dukes and La Salle’s Morgan Szekely was also named the Most Outstanding Rookie as the top freshman finisher.

La Salle finished second with an average time of 18:23.14 and 111 points. Richmond was third with 112 points and an average time of 18:27.94, while Saint Louis followed in fourth with 131 points and an average time of 18:36.12. Davidson rounded out the top five with 133 points and an average time of 18:36.32.

With a score of 134 and an average time of 18:36.94, Massachusetts finished sixth. George Mason came in seventh with 203 points, while Rhode Island followed in eighth with 225 points. Dayton and George Washington rounded out the top 10 with ninth and tenth finishes, respectively. Fordham finished 11th, while St. Bonaventure, Saint Joseph’s and VCU took the final three spots.

Along with Szekely, Delsignore, Palermo and Snyder, Alexa Pelletier (Rhode Island), Kerry Caher (St. Bonaventure), Bethany Sachtleben (George Mason), Marisa Ruskan (Richmond), Rachel Hilliard (Massachusetts), Erin Osment (Davidson), Courtney Thompson (Richmond), Megan Connell (La Salle), Annika Gomell (Saint Louis) and Macaulay Porter (George Washington) were all named to the 2014 Atlantic 10 All-Conference team.

2014 Atlantic 10 Conference

Women’s Cross Country Championship Awards




La Salle

Coach of the Year

Caitlin Cotter, Duquesne

Most Outstanding Performer

Morgan Szekely, La Salle

Rookie of the Year

Morgan Szekely, La Salle

All-Conference Team

Morgan Szekely, La Salle

Alexa Pelletier, Rhode Island

Valerie Palermo, Duquesne

Kerry Caher, St. Bonaventure

Bethany Sachtleben, George Mason

Marisa Ruskan, Richmond

Rachel Hilliard, Massachusetts

Danica Snyder, Duquesne

Erin Osment, Davidson

Jenny Delsignore, Duquesne

Courtney Thompson, Richmond

Megan Connell, La Salle

Annika Gomell, Saint Louis

Elise Ferris, Duquesne

Macaulay Porter, George Washington

More From A-10 Cross Country