George Mason Captures the 2014 A-10 Men's Cross Country Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Photo Gallery

Video Recap

PITTSBURGH —  The George Mason Patriots won the 2014 Atlantic 10 Men’s Cross Country Championship Saturday morning with 50 points and an average time of 25:01.60. Saint Joseph’s Rad Gunzenhauser was the individual winner with a time of 24:33.6. The Men’s 8K race was held at Schenley Park and hosted by Duquesne University.

The Patriots finished with three of the top five finishers and five finishers in the top 23 to bring home Mason’s first A-10 Cross Country championship.

George Mason coach Andrew Gerard won Coach of the Year honors while Duquesne’s Rico Galassi was named the championships Most Outstanding Rookie as the top freshman finisher.

Duquesne finished second with an average time of 25:07.18 and 64 points. Saint Joseph’s was third with 100 points and an average time of 25:12.50, while Saint Louis followed in fourth with 119 points and an average time of 25:20.50. Davidson finished fifth with 144 points and an average time of 25:30.06.

With a score of 161 and an average time of 25:33.76, Richmond finished sixth. Massachusetts came in seventh with 171 points, while Dayton followed in eighth with 187 points. Defending champion La Salle was ninth with 196 points and Fordham took 10th with 202 points. George Washington finished 11th, while VCU, Rhode Island and St. Bonaventure took the final three spots.

Along with Gunzenhauser and Galassi, Michael Conway (George Mason), Steven Flynn (George Mason), Brent Coulter (George Mason), Aaron Wilkinson (Duquesne), Nico Greco (La Salle), Logan Mohn (Saint Joseph’s), Evan Gomez (Duquesne), Tim Zellmer (Saint Louis), Michael Scolarici (Saint Louis), Daniel Samet (Davidson), Quincey O’Connor (Fordham), Ryan Lee (Richmond) and Benjamin Groleau (Massachusetts) were all named to the 2014 Atlantic 10 All-Conference team.

2014 Atlantic 10 Conference

Men’s Cross Country Championship Awards


George Mason



Coach of the Year

Andrew Gerard, George Mason

Most Outstanding Performer

Rad Gunzenhauser, Saint Joseph’s

Rookie of the Year

Rico Galassi, Duquesne

All-Conference Team

Rad Gunzenhauser, Saint Joseph’s

Michael Conway, George Mason

Steven Flynn, George Mason

Brent Coulter, George Mason

Aaron Wilkinson, Duquesne

Nico Greco, La Salle

Rico Galassi, Duquesne

Logan Mohn, Saint Joseph’s

Evan Gomez, Duquesne

Tim Zellmer, Saint Louis

Michael Scolarici, Saint Louis

Daniel Samet, Davidson

Quincey O’Connor, Fordham

Ryan Lee, Richmond

Benjamin Groleau, Massachusetts

More From A-10 Cross Country