UMass Claims Top-Seed for 2014 A-10 Field Hockey Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Newport News, Va. -- Two-time defending champion Massachusetts has secured the top-seed in the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Field Hockey Championship which will take place Nov. 7-8 at Crenshaw Field on the campus of the University of Richmond.

The Minutewomen (10-9) used a 7-1 A-10 regular season record to claim the top-seed in the championship for the third-time since 2010. UMass will be gunning for its fourth A-10 Championship in the last five years and its 12th all-time. UMass (11) and UR (7) have combined to win every A-10 Championship since 1996. 

The host Spiders (10-9) finished its A-10 slate at 6-2 along with Lock Haven (12-7) and Saint Francis (14-2). By virtue of the league’s three-way tie-breaker procedure, UR claimed the second-seed thanks to its win over UMass earlier this season.

Making its first appearance in the A-10 Championship after joining the league as a field hockey affiliate member last season, Saint Francis garnered the third seed by knocking off Lock Haven 2-1 in double overtime on Saturday. Lock Haven will serve as the fourth-seed in this year’s championship. One of LHU’s six league wins came against Richmond, a 1-0 victory back on Oct. 24. 

The 2014 A-10 Championship starts on Friday when Richmond and Saint Francis will square off at 11:00 a.m. in the first semifinal. UMass and Lock Haven will battle at 2:00 p.m. in the second semifinal.

The two winners will meet on Saturday at 2:00 p.m. in the finals, with the winner earning the A-10’s automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Tournament.

All three games can be seen live on the A-10 Network on Atlantic

More From A-10 Field Hockey