Dayton Wins 2014 A-10 Volleyball Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

DAYTON, Ohio— Dayton won its fourth Atlantic 10 Volleyball title in the last five years Sunday, claiming a 3-1 (25-21, 23-25, 25-17, 25-20) win over George Washington in the championship final at Frericks Center.

The top-seeded Flyers (28-5) receive the A-10’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship, which begins Dec. 4. The NCAA selection show will air on Nov. 30 at 8:30 pm on ESPNU.

Dayton’s Alaina Turner led Dayton with a 13-kill, 24-dig double-double to claim Championship Most Outstanding Player honors. She led four Flyers in double figure kills. Isolde Hannan also had 13 kills, while Jill Loiars and Amber Erhahon each had 11. Hannan swung .423 to lead the Flyer hitters, who combined to hit .257 as a team. Erhahon and Hannan also had a team-high five blocks each.

Chidima Osuchukwu led George Washington with 16 kills, hitting .353 with six blocks. Loren Williams added 13 kills and Maddy Doyle tallied a match-high 26 digs.

The first two sets were intense affairs that were battled to the wire. Set one was tied at 20, but the Flyers finished strong with a 5-1 run to close out the set. GW battled back in the second set and scored the game-winning points on a pair of kills from Osuchukwu.

Dayton got four straight kills, including two from Jenna Jendryk, to pull ahead of GW midway through the third set. The Flyers never relinquished that lead and won set three by eight. UD closed out the championship with a five-point win in set four, building a lead form the first serve on three straight kills form Loiars.

Joining Turner on the All-Championship team was Danielle Rygelski of Saint Louis, Doyle, Osuchukwu, and Williams from George Washington and Erhahon and Jane Emmenecker from Dayton.

George Washington, the second seed for the Atlantic 10 Championship, finished the season at 22-8.

More From A-10 Volleyball