SALUTE TO CHAMPIONS: Men's Swimming & Diving

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Twice a week this summer, will feature a sport-by-sport look back at the 2014-15 season and championships. Check back each week for a review of each sport. Today's look back: Men's Swimming & Diving.



The Massachusetts men’s swimming & diving team won the 2015 Atlantic 10 Championship at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. It was the Minutemen’s first A-10 title since 2012 and 15th championship overall.

Massachusetts, who finished with 589 points, entered Saturday trailing by 45.5 points. The Minutemen got off to a quick start in the evening thanks to Alessandro Bomprezzi’s record breaking performance in the 1,650-yd freestyle (15:13.69). With the outcome still very much in the air, the UMass divers stepped up and had three performers finish in the top four including Trent Kindvall’s winning score of 322.5 in the 3-meter dive.

UMass edged out two-time defending champion St. Bonaventure, which finished second with 569 points. Loaded with talent, the Bona squad was led by juniors Vatslav Lets and Michael Pilyugin, the 2013 and 2014 Atlantic 10 Most Outstanding Performers, respectively, along with junior Viacheslav Shchukin, the 2013 A-10 Most Outstanding Rookie Performer.

Two-time defending A-10 Champion, St. Bonaventure, finished in second with 569 points. The Bonnies were followed by George Mason (525), La Salle (449.5), Saint Louis (415), Davidson (335), George Washington (301.5) and Fordham (272.5). Bomprezzi was honored as the Most Outstanding Performer following his record setting performances in the 500-yd freestyle (4:19.75) and the 1,650-yd freestyle. Bomprezzi finished second in the 200-yd freestyle (1:37.56) and was a part of the first place 800-yd freestyle relay team (6:31.86).

Ryan McCoy of Saint Louis was named the Most Outstanding Rookie Performer after setting a new A-10 record in the 200-yd freestyle (1:37.11). McCoy was also a member of the 400-yd freestyle relay team that won gold and two other relay squads (800-yd freestyle and 400-yd medley) that finished in third.

St. Bonaventure’s Alex Marra was named the Most Outstanding Diver of the championship. Marra won the 1-meter diving with a score of 278.05 and finished second in the 3-meter dive final with a score of 305.55.

Massachusetts’ Russ Yarworth and Mandy Hixon were both honored as A-10 Coach of the Year and Diving Coach of the Year, respectively.

Kindvall, Marra, Charles Gimpel and Dylan Yurasits of La Salle all competed in NCAA Zone Diving competition.

Day 1 Photo Gallery | Day 2 Photo Gallery | Day 3 Photo Gallery

Previous Salute to Champions Stories

Men's Cross Country Men's Swimming & Diving Golf
Women's Cross Country Women's Indoor Track & Field Lacrosse
Field Hockey Men's Indoor Track & Field Rowing
Women's Soccer Women's Basketball Women's Outdoor Track & Field
Men's Soccer Men's Basketball Men's Outdoor Track & Field
Volleyball Women's Tennis Softball
Women's Swimming & Diving Men's Tennis Baseball

More From A-10 Swimming & Diving