SALUTE TO CHAMPIONS: Men's Indoor Track & Field

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Twice a week this summer, will feature a sport-by-sport look back at the 2014-15 season and championships. Check back each week for a review of each sport. Today's look back: Men's Indoor Track & Field. 





Rhode Island repeated as Atlantic 10 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Champions, claiming the 2015 title at Mackal Field House. The host Rams, who have won nine A-10 indoor championships, also won in 2014 and have claimed four of the last five titles.

Rhode Island, which scored 203 points, was spurred by nine top three finishes Sunday, including a win by DeAngelo Barry (6.87s) in the 60m. The championship victory earned Rams coach John Copeland Men’s Coach of the Year honors.

The Rams also got a win in the pole vault behind Ondrej Honak’s 4.80m vault and in the long jump thanks to Casey Burley’s 7.13m leap. Honka also won the heptathlon with 5,271 points.

George Mason finished second with 199 points, winning six events. Mason’s John Seals was the Men’s Rookie of the Year following a 2.09m leap in the high jump that earned him a gold medal and a third-place finish in the long jump (6.84m). Jimi Tele won the triple jump for the Patriots with a 14.54m jump. Mason’s distance medley relay team of Logan Miller, Jordan May, Austin Savage and Steven Flynn took gold with a 9:58.55s run. Their 4x400 teammates Xavier King, Jr., Bernard Freeman, DaQuan Smalls and Angel Coburn also won with a 3:17.70. King won the 400m with a 48.43s time and Freeman took the 200m in 21.74s.

Saint Joseph’s was third with 111 points. The Hawks’ Aaron Leskow was named the Male Most Outstanding Track Performer after winning the mile (4:11.70) and 3000m (8:28.63). SJU won every long distance event, including the 500m (Torey Doaty – 1:04.23), the 1000m (Steve Butenewicz – 2:28.47), and the 5000m (Rad Gunzenhauser – 14:43.17). The Hawks also finished first in the 4x800m relay thanks to the team of Jamie Gentile, Logan Mohn, Matt McGarvey and Butenewicz in a time of 7:42.93.

VCU, which claimed the women’s title, was fourth on the men’s side with 94 points and was led by Brandon Ruffin, who set a throw record Saturday to claim Male Most Outstanding Field Performer. Ruffin’s 19.88m weight throw topped the record of 19.77 set by Edward Boes in 2000. Ryan Coles also won the shot put for the Rams with a toss of 17.16m. Kyle Martin won the 60m hurdles for VCU with an 8.09s run.

League newcomer Davidson placed fifth with 44 points. Patrick Rollo won the 800m for the Wildcats with a time of 1:53.59.

DAY 1: Photo Gallery

Previous Salute to Champions Stories

Men's Cross Country Men's Swimming & Diving Golf
Women's Cross Country Women's Indoor Track & Field Lacrosse
Field Hockey Men's Indoor Track & Field Rowing
Women's Soccer Women's Basketball Women's Outdoor Track & Field
Men's Soccer Men's Basketball Men's Outdoor Track & Field
Volleyball Women's Tennis Softball
Women's Swimming & Diving Men's Tennis Baseball

More From A-10 Track & Field