Saint Joseph’s Men and Richmond Women Capture 2015 A-10 Cross Country Championships

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Photo Gallery

MECHANICSVILLE, Va. - The Saint Joseph’s men’s and the Richmond women’s cross country teams have won the 2015 Atlantic 10 Cross Country championships, held Saturday at Pole Green Park in Mechanicsville, Va.

The Hawks finished with 77 team points, en route to capturing their first A-10 Cross Country championship since 2009. SJU was led by two top-five finishers, senior Paul Szulewski (4th place) and junior Jimmy Daniels (5th place). Overall, they had five runners finish in the top 30 performers.

George Mason senior Steven Flynn was named the men’s Most Outstanding Performer. Flynn finished first overall in the men’s five-mile race with a time 24:21.1. The Championships Most Outstanding Rookie Performer was Grayson Morgan from George Mason 25:07.6.

Massachusetts finished in second place with 98 team points. The Minutemen were led by second-place overall finisher Benjamin Groleau (24:41.2). Davidson finished third with 103 points, while La Salle was fourth with 106 points. 2014 Champion George Mason rounded out the top-five with 120 points.

Duquesne was sixth with 156 points, followed by Fordham with 167 points. Saint Louis was ninth with 179 points followed by Richmond in 10th with 211 points. George Washington, Rhode Island, St. Bonaventure and VCU took the final four spots.

Saint Joseph’s head coach Mike Glavin was named the Men’s Coach of the Year.

Joining Flynn, Szuelwski, Daniels and Groleau on the 2015 Men’s All-Conference Team was Ryan Tucker (George Washington), Matthew McKenna (Richmond), Fran Ferruzzi (La Salle), Bradley Heuer (La Salle), Will Brewster (La Salle), Thomas Slattery (Fordham), Ryan Phillips (Davidson), Paolo Tavares (Massachusetts), Daniel Samet (Davidson), Alex Lucking (Richmond) and Hunter Johnston (Dayton).

Richmond won their first A-10 title since 2010 with 87 points, finishing just ahead of two-time defending champion Duquesne. The Spiders had four competitors among the top 20 finishers and were led by senior Tara Hanley who recorded a fourth-place finish with a time of 17:20.9.

La Salle’s Morgan Szekely was named the women’s championships Most Outstanding Performer after winning her second consecutive A-10 individual title with a time of 17:09.4.

Duquesne finished second with 88 points, just narrowly missing a third consecutive A-10 title. The Dukes were led by two top-10 finishers (Jenny Delsignore and Valerie Palumbo).

La Salle and Massachusetts tied for third-place with 111 points. GW rounded out the top five with 136 points.

Saint Louis finished in sixth with 153 points followed by Saint Joseph’s in seventh with 156 points.

With a score of 179 points, Davidson finished in 8th followed by Dayton and Fordham in ninth and tenth respectively.  George Mason, Rhode Island, VCU and St. Bonaventure took the final four spots.

Caroline Yarbrough from Davidson was named the Women’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer after recording a third-place finish and a time of 17:20.9.

Richmond’s Lori Taylor was named the Women’s Coach of the Year.

2015 Atlantic 10 Conference

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country Championship Awards

Men’s Champion

Saint Joseph’s

Women’s Champion


Men’s Coach of the Year

Mike Glavin, Saint Joseph’s

Women’s Coach of the Year

Lori Taylor, Richmond

Men’s Most Outstanding Performer

Steven Flynn, George Mason

Women’s Most Outstanding Performer

Morgan Szekely, La Salle

Men’s Rookie of the Year

Grayson Morgan, George Mason

Women’s Rookie of the Year

Caroline Yarbrough, Davidson

Men’s All-Conference Team

Steven Flynn, George Mason

Benjamin Groleau, Massachusetts

Ryan Tucker, George Washington

Paul Szulewski, Saint Joseph’s

Jimmy Daniels, Saint Joseph’s

Matthew McKenna, Richmond

Fran Ferruzzi, La Salle

Bradley Heuer, La Salle

Will Brewster, Davidson

Thomas Slattery, Fordham

Ryan Phillips, Davidson

Paolo Tavares, Massachusetts

Daniel Samet, Davidson

Alex Lucking, Richmond

Hunter Johnston, Dayton

Women’s All-Conference Team

Morgan Szekely, La Salle

Heather MacLean, Massachusetts

Caroline Yarbrough, Davidson

Tara Hanley, Richmond

Isabel Liebfried, Saint Louis

Jenny Delsignore, Duquesne

Kaitlin Poiesz, La Salle

Emily Leonard, Dayton

Valerie Palermo, Duquesne

Taylor Vernot, Dayton

Courtney Thomspon, Richmond

Ariana North, George Washington

Jenna Gigliotti, Duquesne

Miranda DiBiaso, George Washington

Carly Zinner, Massachusetts

More From A-10 Cross Country