Dayton Earns Top-Seed in 2014 Atlantic 10 Women's Basketball Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – On the strength of a 14-2 league record, the University of Dayton captured the top-seed for the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Basketball Championship to be held March 5-9 at the Richmond Coliseum in Richmond, Va.  

The Flyers, who are 21-6 overall, enter the Championship as the top-seed for the second consecutive season. UD is currently ranked 21st in the nation in the latest USA Today Coaches Poll and receives one of the four byes into quarterfinal play of the Championship.

Joining Dayton with the remaining three byes are St. Bonaventure, Fordham and George Washington which all finished the season with 11-5 records in A-10 play.  SBU earned the second seed in the Championship thanks to its head-to-head wins over both the Rams and Colonials. Fordham was awarded the third seed due to its victory over GW in the regular season.

Defending champion Saint Joseph’s earned the fifth seed after finishing with a 10-6 mark. Duquesne, which was also 10-6 will serve as the sixth seed.  SJU topped Duquesne in their lone meeting of the season.

La Salle and VCU tied at 9-7 with the Explorers taking the seventh slot in the bracket via the head-to-head tiebreaker with the eighth seeded Rams.

Richmond closed out the regular season 8-8 to earn the No. 9 seed, while Saint Louis (7-9) will serve as the No. 10 seed and Rhode Island (2-14) placed 11th.

The Championship will tip-off Wednesday evening with an Opening Round game between the 12th seeded Patriots of George Mason and the 13th seed Massachusetts Minutewomen. The winner of that contest advances to take on Saint Joseph’s on Thursday at 2:30 p.m. in First Round action.

The First-Round will begin Thursday with cross-town rivals VCU and Richmond squaring off at Noon, followed by SJU and the winner of the Mason/UMass contest. La Salle and Saint Louis will play at 5:00 p.m., while Duquesne and Rhody will play in the nightcap at 7:30 p.m.

Quarterfinal action starts Friday at Noon when Dayton meets the winner of VCU and UR. GW awaits the winner of Saint Joseph’s and the Opening Round victor at 2:30. The Bonnies will face La Salle or SLU at 5:00 p.m. and Fordham will take on Duquesne or Rhode Island to close out the day at 7:30 p.m.

The four quarterfinal winners advance to Semifinal Saturday with games at 11:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. live on CBS Sports Network.

The two winners from Saturday will meet in the Finals at 11:00 a.m. on Sunday with the winner receiving the A-10’s automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Tournament.  The Finals will air live on ESPNU.

In addition to network television coverage, the Opening Round, First Round and Quarterfinals will be streamed live on the A-10 Digital Network. Tickets for the Championship can be purchased by calling Ticketmaster at 1-800-745-3000 or by logging onto

More From A-10 Women's Basketball