By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Twice a week this summer, will feature a sport-by-sport look back at the 2014-15 season and championships. Check back each week for a review of each sport. Today's look back: Women's Rowing. 

The University of Massachusetts successfully defended its title, winning the 2015 Atlantic 10 Conference Championship at Cooper River Park. The Minutewomen won their second straight A-10 crown and their 15th overall. UMass, which scored 53 points to claim the title, also earned the Atlantic 10’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s Rowing Championship.

The championship came down to a thrilling final race, the Varsity 8. Massachusetts, Rhode Island (who finished second overall) and Saint Joseph’s (third place) were all within three points before the race, setting up a Varsity 8 that would decide the title. UMass won the Varsity 8 with a time of 6:50.23, with Rhody just three seconds behind at 6:53.27.The Minutewomen also won the Second Varsity 8 with a time of 6:55.88 and placed second in the Varsity 4 with a 7:36.50.

Rhode Island finished with 47 points, winning the Varsity 4 at 7:31.10 and finishing second in the Varsity 8 with a time of 6:53.27. The Rams placed third in the Second Varsity 8 with a 7:04.47 and also won the non-scoring Third Varsity 8 at 7:10.45.

SJU placed third in the Varsity 4 (7:45.30) and second in the Second Varsity 8 (7:02.05).The Hawks finished third overall with 38 points.Duquesne was third in the Varsity 8 with a 6:55.41 and second in the Third Varsity 8 clocking in at 7:13.01. George Washington was third in the Third Varsity 8 (7:15.53).

Duquesne was fourth with 34 points and Dayton and George Mason tied for fifth with 26 points.

Following the conclusion of the Championship, the Atlantic10 honored 21 student-athletes as All-Conference. Massachusetts coach Jim Dietz was voted Coach of the Year. It marked the second straight year Dietz was honored as Coach of the Year, which is voted on by the league’s nine head coaches. After the season, Dietz was also voted into the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Hall of Fame.

The All-Conference teams are based on nominations from each coach and team finish in the championship. There were 11 student-athletes selected for the All-Conference First Team and 10 on the Second Team.

Massachusetts concluded the 2015 season with appearances in the C and D finals of the NCAA Championships in Gold River, Calif., at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center.

The UMass Second Varsity 8+ brought home 18th overall at the NCAA Championships and participated in the "C" finals.

The Varsity 8+ tallied 20th and the Varsity 4+ earned 21st as each was part of its respective "D" final. As a squad, the Minutewomen finished 20th overall and earned 21 team points with 10 from the Second Varsity 8+, nine via the Varsity 8+ and two from the Varsity 4+. The Varsity 8+ secured the highest UMass finish within its race and earned second with a time of 6:56.967.

The Second Varsity 8+ reached the finish in 7:02.760 for sixth in a tightly contested "C" final. The Varsity 4+ ended its final competitive run in 8:33.756 for third in its final and 21st overall at the NCAA Championships.

Previous Salute to Champions Stories

Men's Cross Country Men's Swimming & Diving Golf
Women's Cross Country Women's Indoor Track & Field Lacrosse
Field Hockey Men's Indoor Track & Field Rowing
Women's Soccer Women's Basketball Women's Outdoor Track & Field
Men's Soccer Men's Basketball Men's Outdoor Track & Field
Volleyball Women's Tennis Softball
Women's Swimming & Diving Men's Tennis Baseball

More From A-10 Rowing