On March 2, 1975, the idea of what is now the Atlantic 10 Conference was conceived. What started as an eight-school, men’s basketball-only affiliation has grown into a 14-university, 21-sport league that is universally hailed as one of the best conferences in the country.

That growth and prominence is a direct result of the ideals and commitments of the member institutions of the Atlantic 10 – Davidson College, The University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University and Virginia Commonwealth University. 

In 2012-13, the Atlantic 10 was continued to be proactive in navigating sweeping conference realignment, adding George Mason University for 2013 and Davidson College in 2014. The additions follow a very successful first year by Virginia Commonwealth University, which began full membership on July 1, 2012. The league continues to draw national praise for its decisions during conference realignment in selecting institutions driven by academics and basketball. The league was deemed the “winner” of conference realignment in 2011-12. The three additions were part of a five-year Strategic Initiative Plan that was adopted during the 2010-11 academic year.


Current Members First Year
Davidson 2014-15
Dayton 1995-96
Duquesne 1976-77
Fordham 1995-96
George Mason 2013-14
George Washington 1976-77
La Salle 1995-96
Massachusetts 1976-77
Rhode Island 1980-81
Richmond 2001-02
St. Bonaventure 1979-80
Saint Joseph's 1982-83
Saint Louis 2005-06
VCU 2012-13
Affiliate Members       
First Year            
Lock Haven 2010-11 Field Hockey

The 14 member institutions of the A-10 are united and strengthened by their diversity.  Each is extraordinary in its educational mission, whether of a Catholic faith, a private university or a land grant institution.  The varied pursuits of each member prove that there are many threads that weave the fabric for a great conference.

The Atlantic 10 Conference, with a total population of over 82 million people within its geographic footprint of eight states and the District of Columbia, will crown champions in 21 sports this year: baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's golf, women’s lacrosse, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track & field, women's rowing, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's swimming & diving, men's and women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

The presidents and chancellors of Atlantic 10 institutions, in conjunction with Atlantic 10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade, have made a strong commitment to making the academic and athletics equation a successful one. Over the years, the league membership has strived to better recognize the academic accomplishments of its student-athletes. The Commissioner's Honor Roll, which cites every Atlantic 10 student-athlete with a 3.5 grade point average or better, recognized a record 3,255 student-athletes in 2012-13.

The league sponsors Academic All-Conference teams in each of its sports and honors two student-athletes as the A-10 Student-Athletes of the Year.  Moreover, the Atlantic 10 provides four postgraduate scholarship grants to qualified student-athletes.  In 2013-14, nearly 200 student-athletes earned Academic All-Conference recognition. 

The Atlantic 10 Conference once again earned high marks in the NCAA Academic metrics. This includes ranking fifth among all 32 Division I Conferences in the Academic Progress Rate (APR) and in the Graduation Success Rate (GSR)