Ticket Galaxy
Baseball mm

La Salle Headlines Big 5 Baseball Awards

Release: 06/04/2013
Print RSS

June 4, 2013

PHILADELPHIA – Thirteen Atlantic 10 baseball student-athletes have earned All-Big 5 recognition, announced today. La Salle head coach Mike Lake was named Coach of the Year for the third time in his career while Pat Christensen notched his third consecutive Student-Athlete of the Year nod along with being named Pitcher of the Year.  The Explorers were also named Team of the Year.

The accolades continue to pile up for Christensen, who was named a CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-American last week. Christensen went 6-1 with a 2.52 ERA this season, fanning 58 batters in 50 innings of work. He added 11 saves as well, earning a win or save in 17 of La Salle's 24 victories. A first-team Atlantic 10 reliever, Christensen concludes his career with 44 saves, good for fifth all-time in NCAA Division I history. He has also achieved a 3.61 GPA as an accounting major, aiding his third consecutive Big 5 Student-Athlete of the Year recognition.

Lake earns Big 5 Coach of the Year Status for the third time in the last four years after leading the program to an all-time best 15-9 A-10 mark this season. His 129 career win tally ranks second in program history.

As a team, La Salle was voted Big 5 Team of the Year for the fourth time, most of any program in the city. The Blue and Gold was the only program in the quintet to reach its conference tournament. The Explorers took four of six from Temple and Saint Joseph's this season, their Big 5 and A-10 rivals.

2013 Philadelphia All-Big 5 Team
C Brian O'Keefe - Saint Joseph's
1B Derek Peterson - Temple

2B Mike Vilardo - Saint Joseph's
SS Anthony Cirillo - Saint Joseph's

SS Tyler Sciacca - Villanova
3B Dan Klem - La Salle
3B Henry Knabe - Temple
OF Ryan Deitrich - Penn
OF Chris Hueth - Saint Joseph's
OF Justin Korenblatt - La Salle
Util Mark Williams - La Salle
SP Dan Gautieri - Penn
SP Josh Harris - Villanova
SP Kyle Mullen - Saint Joseph's
SP Eric Peterson - Temple
RP Pat Christensen - La Salle
RP Jimmy Yacabonis - Saint Joseph's

Player of the Year: Ryan Deitrich
Pitcher of the Year: Pat Christensen
Rookie of the Year: Mike Vilardo
Student-Athlete of the Year: Pat Christensen
Coach of the Year: Mike Lake
Team of the Year: La Salle

All-Academic Team
Spencer Branigan - Penn
Nick Lustrino - Temple
Pat Christensen
Jordan Carter - Saint Joseph's

Stephen Ostapeck - Villanova

It's On Us