Ticket Galaxy

A-10 to Hold Student-Athlete Leadership Summit This Weekend

Release: 03/29/2017
Print RSS
Courtesy: Getty Images

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — The Atlantic 10 Conference will host its first Student-Athlete Leadership Summit April 8- 9 in Washington, DC., bringing together 28 men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes, representing each of the 14 conference member institutions.

The two-day event, scheduled to be held in the nation’s capital, will feature professional speakers and seminars on developing leadership skills, personal brand identities, networking skills, social responsibility and life after college.

“We are delighted to bring together many of the top professionals in athletics and some of our conference’s most promising, basketball student-athlete leaders for two days of personal and career training. The Leadership Summit is an event that was created by our member institutions and supports our conference mission of providing quality academic and athletic experiences for our student-athletes,” stated A-10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade.

Kevin Eastman, former collegiate and NBA coach and the founder and director of Coaching U Live, will serve as the keynote speaker for the Leadership Summit. The event also features speakers from the Student-Athlete Leadership Summit facilitator, Forward Progress Athletic Consulting, including president John Shukie, Maricela Shukie, Kelly Brooks, Holly Adinoff, Frank Arredondo, Walter Brock and Claire Perry.

“Forward Progress is thrilled to be partnering with the Atlantic 10 Conference on its inaugural Student-Athlete Leadership Summit. The A-10 is committed to providing its student-athletes with extraordinary opportunities. Forward Progress is excited to be an integral part of shaping these opportunities and honing the leadership skills of these tremendous student-athletes,” said Forward Progress President John Shukie.

The participants will interact with each of the speakers, as well as each other, throughout the two days, culminating with Leadership Summit certification at the completion of the event. The student-athletes were selected by their respective institutions and include; Kianna Speight and KiShawn Pritchett of Davidson, Jordan Wilmoth and Jack Westerfield of Dayton, Conor Richardson and Tarin Smith of Duquesne, Lauren Holden and David Pekarek of Fordham, Jewel Triggs and Otis Livingston II of George Mason, Mei-Lyn Bautista and Jordan Roland of George Washington, Anemone Scheel and Amar Stukes of La Salle, Hailey Leidel and Malik Hines of UMass, Dina Motrechuk and Jared Terrell of Rhode Island, Micaela Parson and Khwan Fore of Richmond, McKenna Maycock and Idris Taqqee of St. Bonaventure, Alyssa Monaghan and Lamarr Kimble of Saint Joseph’s, Jordyn Frantz and Adonys Henriquez of Saint Louis and Bria Gibson and Samir Doughty of VCU.


About Forward Progress Athletics Consulting

Forward Progress is the industry leader in providing academic and leadership consulting to NCAA institutions and conferences.  Discover more at

It's On Us