By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Click here for the complete Watch List

ST. LOUIS -- Saint Louis junior defender Alli Klug (Webster Groves, Mo./Nerinx Hall H.S.) is one of 45 NCAA Division I women’s soccer players named to the 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List. The announcement was made today by United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding female and male players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 4, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Klug is the first Saint Louis women’s player to be named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List. She also is one of 17 returning All-Americans and the only Atlantic 10 Conference player on the Watch List.

Klug enjoyed an outstanding sophomore season that culminated in her selection to the United Soccer Coaches All-America third team. She was a United Soccer Coaches All-East Region first-team choice, an Atlantic 10 first-team All-Conference honoree and the A-10’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Klug’s performance along the back line helped lift Saint Louis to a 15-3-2 record and the top of the A-10 in goals against average (0.49) and shutouts (school-record-tying 13, including seven vs. A-10 opponents). The Billikens were 10th in the nation in both categories. Her 1,716 minutes (85.8 per game) ranked second among Billiken field players, and she played every minute in 16 of SLU’s 20 games. Klug and her teammates yielded the fewest goals in program history (10) and allowed just 8.5 total shots, 3.9 shots on goal and 2.6 corner kicks per game.

Klug earned an A-10 Defensive Player of the Week award, and she also contributed in the attacking third by scoring five goals, all against conference foes. She netted game-winners in consecutive contests vs. George Washington (in the 90th minute) and Rhode Island.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Women’s and Men’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches, 15 semifinalists will be named for both the women’s and men’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the season. From those candidates, three finalists will be placed on the ballot for each of the coveted awards.

More From A-10 Women's Soccer