Dayton Wins 10th Atlantic 10 Volleyball Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference
WASHINGTON— Dayton won its second straight Atlantic 10 Volleyball Championship Sunday, beating Saint Louis, 3-0 (25-19, 25-23, 25-20) in the championship final at the Charles E. Smith Center.

The top-seeded Flyers have won 23 straight matches, the longest winning streak in the nation. It’s Dayton’s 10th A-10 title and sixth in the last seven years. They claim the Atlantic 10’s automatic bid to the NCAA Volleyball Tournament, which begins the weekend of Dec. 5.

UD won the first set by scoring five straight points with the score tied at 13, which started a 7-1 Flyer run. Spurred by kills from Amber Erhahon and Jessica Sloan, the run gave Dayton a 20-14 lead. Kills by Danielle Rygelski, Lauren Leverenz and Nenye Okoro rallied the second-seeded Billikens, but Sloan and Alaina Turner scored a pair of kills to secure the 25-19 win.

Set two was close throughout, but with the score tied at 22, Dayton registered late kills from Loiars and Turner to win 25-23. Loiars, an All-Championship selection who led UD with 10 kills and hit .348, had five kills in the final set to pace the Flyers to a 25-20 win.

Turner, who totaled 29 kills and 26 digs in the Flyers’ two matches, was named the Championship’s Most Outstanding Player. She had nine kills and 10 digs Sunday. As a team, Dayton hit .297 to spur their potent offense.

Okoro recorded 12 kills and 11 digs to lead Saint Louis (22-10) with a double-double. She was named to the All-Championship team along with Rygelski, who had eight kills, five aces and 10 digs Sunday.

Dayton setter Jane Emmenecker was named to the All-Championship team as well, joining Chidima Osuchukwu from George Washington and Audrey Castro from Rhode Island.

More From A-10 Volleyball