Rhode Island Men & Massachusetts Women Win 2016 A-10 Indoor Track & Field Championships

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference




KINGSTON, R.I.— The Rhode Island men and the Massachusetts women captured the 2016 Atlantic 10 Indoor Track & Field titles at Mackal Fieldhouse on Sunday.

The victory marks Rhode Island’s third consecutive A-10 championship and fifth title in the last six years. The Rams finished with 188.66 points and maintained a lead after Day One to win the title. They were led by twelve top-three finishes on Sunday, including wins in the 60 meter hurdles (Mike DiMambro) and the shot put (Sam Snyder).

George Mason finished a close second with 184.83 points, finishing with five event wins on Sunday. The Patriots recorded event victories in the 60 meters, the 200 meters, the 3,000 meters, the high jump and the triple jump. Mason’s Bernard Freeman, the Men’s Most Outstanding Track Performer, won the both the 60 meters (6.85 seconds) and the 200 meters (21.65). His time in the 60 meters tied the A-10 record in the event. George Mason’s Andrew Gerard was named Coach of the Year.

Massachusetts finished third in the standings with 90.83 points and was led by Men’s Most Outstanding Field Performer, Kristopher Horn. Horn won the men’s heptathlon with a total of 5,318 points. Following Rhode Island, George Mason and UMass in the standings were Saint Joseph’s (69), Davidson (57), Saint Louis (55.33), La Salle (55.33), VCU (49), Fordham (27) and George Washington (2).

Massachusetts, finishing with 123 points, captured the A-10 women’s title for the first time since 1998. The Minutewomen were led by the Women’s Most Outstanding Track Performer, Heather MacLean, who recorded individual victories in the 800 meters (2:09.06), the Mile (4:53.84) and was a part of the Distance Medley Relay squad that also finished first. Massachusetts was also led on Sunday by freshman Emilie Cowan. Cowan, the Women’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, picked up wins in the 200 meters and the 500 meters. UMass Coach Julie LaFreniere was named Coach of the Year.

Rhode Island, the leader after Day One of the championship, finished in second-place on the women’s side with 116.5 points. The Rams recorded victories in the 60 meter hurdles, 400 meters and the high jump.

Dayton’s Jenni Rossi was named the Most Outstanding Field Performer after winning the shot put (14.49 meters) and the weight throw (17.03 meters).

Following UMass and Rhode Island in the standings were George Mason (106), Richmond (92), VCU (89), Dayton (71), Saint Joseph’s (49), Duquesne (42.5), Saint Louis (31), Davidson (26), La Salle (16), Fordham (13) and George Washington (5).

Men’s Most Outstanding Field Performer: Kristopher Horn, Massachusetts
Men’s Most Outstanding Track Performer: Bernard Freeman, George Mason
Men’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer: Sean Phillips, Fordham
Men’s Coach of the Year: Andrew Gerard, George Mason

Women’s Most Outstanding Field Performer: Jenni Rossi, Dayton
Women’s Most Outstanding Track Performer: Heather MacLean, Massachusetts
Women’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer: Emilie Cowan, Massachusetts
Women’s Coach of the Year: Julie LaFreniere, Massachusetts


More From A-10 Track & Field