Ticket Galaxy

VCU Wins Second Straight A-10 Golf Title, Advances to NCAA Regionals

Release: 04/26/2015
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

HARMONY, Fla.—VCU won its second straight Atlantic 10 Golf Championship, claiming the 2015 title Sunday at Harmony Golf Preserve. The Rams finished with at 10-under par to claim the victory and an automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals.

Junior Adam Ball finished at 14 under, carding a 202 (66-68-68) to earn Medalist honors, leading the Rams to an 854 (286-286-282) final tally. VCU coach Matt Ball was named A-10 Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year. Steffen Harm’s 219 (75-71-73) and Enej Sarkanj’s 221 (77-74-70) were VCU’s other Top 20 finishers. Both Harm and Adam Ball were voted onto the All-Conference team.

Richmond freshman Matthew Lowe was named the 2015 A-10 Rookie of the Year after finishing second overall with a 209 (76-67-66). Lowe, also an All-Conference choice, recorded the lowest daily score of any competitor on both round two (67) and round three (66). His performance helped the Spiders place second with a three-over 867 (294-286-287). Richmond had rallied into second place on day two, and then held the runner-up position through Sunday’s final round. UR’s David Germann also had a top-five finish, carding a 215 (69-73-73) to tie for fifth.

Davidson was third overall with a with an 869 (284-291-294) and was led by All-Conference selection David Sargent, who tied Germann for fifth with a  215 (72-71-72). George Mason and Rhode Island tied for fourth with an 874. Mason (296-287-291) was paced by Zack Lauzon, who also tied for fifth with a 215 (74-70-71). Rhody (292-294-288) had Billy Walthouse named to the All-Conference team. Walthouse finished tied for 13th and was URI’s second-place finisher behind Joseph Leavitt, who tied for 11th overall.

The remainder of the All-Conference team, which was selected by the league’s 11 head coaches, included Davidson’s Todd Eckstein, Jack Persons of George Washington, Tonny Aizpun of La Salle, last year’s Medalist Danny Pizetoski of Richmond and VCU’s Jamie Clare.

There were 17 eagles during the three rounds, spread out among nine different teams. Fordham’s Ben Alcorn was the only player to tally multiple eagles for the championship, scoring a three on the par five No. 14 in both the second and third rounds.

The NCAA will select the teams and individuals for regionals on Monday, May 4.

2015 Golf Awards

Medalist: Adam Ball, VCU

Rookie of the Year: Matthew Lowe, Richmond

Coach of the Year: Matt Ball, VCU

Todd Eckstein, Davidson
David Sargent, Davidson
Tonny Aizpun, La Salle
Jack Persons, George Washington
Billy Walthouse, Rhode Island
Matthew Lowe, Richmond
Danny Pizetoski, Richmond
Jamie Clare, VCU
Steffen Harm, VCU
Adam Ball, VCU

It's On Us