Massachusetts Wins Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Keith Lucas/Atlantic 10

RICHMOND, Va. –  Nicole Miller,who was named to the All-Championship team, scored a goal with under four minutes to play to lift Massachusetts to its 16th Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship title Saturday afternoon at VCU's Cary Street Field. Miller's marker broke a one-all tie and gave the Minutewomen a 2-1 victory over top-seeded Saint Joseph's, their fourth A-10 title in the last five years.

Miller's goal erased a late equalizer by Atlantic 10 Offensive Player of the Year Anna Willocks, who scored a game-tying goal with eight and a half minutes left.

UMass' Izzie Delario put the Minutewomen in the lead late in the first half with a goal off a pass from the championship's Most Outstanding Player Sarah Hawkshaw, who tallied a hat trick in the semifinals and had the assist on Sunday.

The Minutewomen (13-7), earned the league’s berth into the NCAA Tournament. The Field Hockey Selection Show will be broadcast on on Sunday.

Joining Miller on the All-Championship team were Saint Joseph’s Anna Willocks, Pepa Serrano and Victoria Kammerinke, Richmond’s Katrina Balatgek and Elise Zwicklbauer, Saint Francis’ Brea Seabrook and Hannah Retherford, and Shauna Rankin-Byrne, Delario and Hawkshaw from UMass.

UMass registered 21 shots and had nine penalty corners. Hazard stopped two Saint Joseph’s shots, including a game-ending penalty corner by the Hawks. Saint Joseph’s tallied five shots and four corners. Kammerinke had 9 saves including and impressive stick save on a penalty stroke right before half.  The Hawks finish their season at 15-6. 


More From A-10 Field Hockey