Willocks, Cooke, Turner Claim Top Atlantic 10 Annual Field Hockey Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


NEWPORT NEWS, Va.— Saint Joseph’s freshman Anna Willocks was selected for two of the Atlantic 10 Conference’s top field hockey awards, while Richmond’s Amy Cooke and Davidson coach Ginny Turner earned the other two top awards.

Willocks was chosen as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year and the Rookie of the Year by a vote of the head field hockey coaches. Cooke, a senior, was named Defensive Player of the Year and Turner was selected by her peers as A-10 Coach of the Year. The A-10 announced the four awards, the All-Conference, All-Rookie and All-Academic teams Thursday ahead of the 2015 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship, which begins Friday at Saint Joseph’s Ellen Ryan Field.

Willocks led the A-10 in goals (16) and points (36), including scoring 10 goals in conference play with 21 points. She ranks sixth nationally in total goals and eighth in goals per game at .94. A native of Palmerston North, New Zealand, she is also averaging a league-best 2.12 points per game and she has three game-winning goals this season, all of them in conference play. Willocks scored in each of the final four SJU games to help the Hawks lock up an A-10 championship berth.

Cooke anchored Richmond’s defense while also scoring three goals as the point of the penalty corner formation, two of which were game-winners. She scored twice in conference play. Her efforts helped Richmond pitch nine shutouts, including five in Atlantic 10 games. A back from Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, she also recorded a defensive save this season.

Turner led the Wildcats to their first-ever Atlantic 10 Championship appearance and a 5-3 record in conference play. Under her watch, Davidson edged defending champion Richmond 1-0 and moved into first place in league play before finishing in a tie for second overall. She is in her ninth season at Davidson and the Coach of the Year award is her second such honor. She was also named NorPac Coach of the Year in 2010.

The league also announced the 11-member All-Conference First and Second Teams, the 11-member All-Rookie Team and the All-Academic Team, comprised of 11 student-athletes with academic and athletic success. The All-Academic Team was selected by the A-10’s media relations directors.

The 2015 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship begins with Friday’s semifinals in which top-seeded Richmond faces No. 4 Davidson and No. 2 UMass plays third-seeded Saint Joseph’s. The championship final will be played Saturday at 2:00 pm with the winner advancing to the NCAA Tournament.

2015 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s
Defensive Player of the Year: Amy Cooke, Richmond
Rookie of the Year: Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s
Coach of the Year: Ginny Turner, Davidson

All-Conference First Team
Melissa Funsten, Davidson
Stephanie Whiteman, Lock Haven
Izzie Delario, Massachusetts
Sarah Hawkshaw, Massachusetts
Amy Cooke, Richmond
Kelly Quinn, Richmond
Selena Adamshick, Saint Francis
Irene Fritschy, Saint Francis
Samantha Zeiders, Saint Francis (GK)
Jenny Morris, Saint Joseph’s
Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s

All-Conference Second Team
Anna Davis, Davidson
Emily Leytham, Davidson (GK)
Kendall Kreider, La Salle
Rachel Valentine, Lock Haven
Megan Wenrich, Lock Haven
Melanie Kreusch, Massachusetts
Taylor Deitrick, Richmond
Megan Miller, Richmond
Shannon Pereira, Saint Francis
Monica Tice, Saint Joseph’s
Emily McNamara, VCU

All-Rookie Team
Megan Kida, La Salle
Tamia Roach, Lock Haven
Alyscia Smith, Lock Haven
Kim Sistermans, Massachusetts
Emily Braunewell, Richmond
Irene Fritschy, Saint Francis
Brianna Govia, Saint Francis
Brea Seabrook, Saint Francis
Monica Tice, Saint Joseph’s
Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s
Emily McNamara, VCU

All-Academic Team
Jenica Miller, La Salle
Katie O’Grady, La Salle
Rachel Valentine, Lock Haven
Sam Carlino, Massachusetts
Cliodhna Loughlin, Massachusetts
Avery Safford, Richmond
Selena Adamshick, Saint Francis
Carly Gromel, Saint Francis
Kelly Quealy, Saint Francis
Melanie Colozzi, Saint Joseph’s
Kendall Farino, VCU

More From A-10 Field Hockey