Ticket Galaxy

UMass Foursome Garners Major A-10 Lacrosse Awards

Release: 05/04/2016
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


PITTSBURGH, Pa. - For the second straight year, the Massachusetts Mintuewomen have garnered four of the five major Atlantic 10 Women's Lacrosse awards, the league announced in advance of the 2016 A-10 Lacrosse Championship.

Erika Eipp and Hannah Murphy earned Offensive and Midfielder of the Year, respectively, both for the second consecutive season, while Kate Farnham was named Defensive Player of the Year. UM's Angela McMahon earned her fifth Coach of the Year nod in the past six seasons.

Joining the UMass trio is Saint Joseph's freshman, Rebecca Lane, who was named Rookie of the Year.

Eipp, a two-time A-10 All-Conference First Team selection, finished the season with 76 points, 26 points ahead of second place. A 2015 IWLCA All-Region Second Team selection, the Townsend, Mass., product is the sixth player in UMass history to reach 200 career points. The senior attacker is the fifth leading point scorer in program history (210), and her 45 assists this season are a UMass record. 

Farnham, a senior from Andover, Mass., is the first UMass field player to win Defensive Player of the Year honors since 2004 (Kristin St. Hilaire). Farnham ranks ninth in program history for career ground balls (128) and third for career caused turnovers (86). 

Murphy, a junior from Duxbury, Mass., set the single-season draw record this year (125), and averages more than two draw controls a game more than any other player in the league. The two-time Midfielder of the Year also holds the UMass career record  for draw controls (283), and was a 2015 IWLCA All-Region First Teamer. This is also her second First-Team All-Conference selection. 

Through 13 games, Lane posted 50 points on 31 goals and 19 assists, ranking second on the team in all three categories. The rookie midfielder out of Victoria, Australia, led the Hawks with 38 points through nine league games, including a nine-point effort (five goals, four assists) at George Washington, and put away the overtime game-winner against Duquesne. A two-time A-10 Rookie of the Week, Lane finished the regular season in the league’s top ten for goals per game, assists per game, points per game, total assists, total points, and free position percentage. Lane was also named to the 2016 All-Rookie squad.

McMahon has amassed an overall record of 107-13 in her six seasons at UMass, becoming the all-time winningest coach in program history. She has led the Minutewomen to six undefeated A-10 regular-seasons, five A-10 Championship titles, and five trips to NCAA Tournament including advances to the second round in 2013 and 2015. In her six seasons, UMass has earned six Offensive Player of the Year nods, three Defensive Player of the Year awards, two Midfielder of the Year accolades, 47 All-Conference selections and 13 All-Academic selections.

Duquesne University plays host to the 2016 Championship, which kicks off Thursday at Rooney Field. As the No. 3 seed, the Dukes will face No. 6 Richmond at 1:00 pm, while the fourth-seeded Hawks, will play No. 5 Davidson in the quarterfinals at 3:30 pm.

The winner of Duquesne/Richmond will face No. 2 George Mason on Friday at 1:00 pm and the winner of Saint Joseph's/Davidson will take on top-seeded UMass. 

The Championship game will be held on Sunday at noon, with the champion earning the Atlantic 10's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

All five games of the Lacrosse Championship will be streamed through the A-10 Network, which can be accessed from



It's On Us