Dayton Men & Women Sweep A-10 Cross Country Titles

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Photo Gallery

LEESBURG, Va. – Dayton completed the championship sweep Saturday, when their men’s and women’s cross country teams both won team titles at Oatlands Plantation. Saint Louis junior Manuel De Backer won the men’s race and Massachusetts senior Heather MacLean won the women’s race for the second straight year. 

It was the second consecutive A-10 men’s title for the Flyers, who had four runners finish inside the top 20, led by junior Chris Negri who finished third with a time of 25:22.7 and JP Flavin who finished fourth with a time of 25:23.6. UD junior Spencer Danielson and senior Tyler Adgalanis finished 13th and 14th overall with times of 25:37.3 and 25:42.3, respectively. 

For the Flyers women’s cross country team, this was also their second cross country championship. Dayton had four runners place inside the top 10 and five inside the top 20. Junior Taylor Vernot led the way with a third-place finish with a time of 17:53.9 followed by her teammate who came in fourth with a time of 17:56.9. Sophomore Chloe Flora finished the course with a time of 18:04.2 to come in sixth-place and Emily Borchers took home ninth-place with a time of 18:14.9.

De Backer was named the Most Outstanding Performer after recording 8K time of 25:12.3. Massachusetts junior Heather MacLean was named the women’s Most Outstanding Performer for the second consecutive year finishing 28 seconds ahead of second place with a time of 17:22.2. La Salle’s Ryan James won the men’s Most Outstand Rookie award by completing the course in 25:54.4. Freshman Caroline Clark from Massachusetts took home the women’s Most Outstanding Rookie award with a time of 18:58.9. 

Dayton coach Jason Ordway took home the men’s and women’s coach of the year awards. It was Ordway’s second consecutive men’s coach of the year award.

Coming in second this year in the men’s event was Saint Joseph’s with 84 points, led by senior Dan Savage who finished with a time of 25:17.3. Third place finisher George Washington was led by senior Matthew Lange (25:26.7) who helped the Colonials to 95 points. Duquesne and La Salle finished fourth and fifth with 146 points and 156 points, respectively.

Junior Colleen Carney (18:00.2) helped lead Richmond to a second place finish on the women’s with 61 points. Only six points behind them was Davidson who finished in third with 67 points and were led by senior Sarah Sears’ time of 17:50.6. Massachusetts finished this year’s event in fourth with 143 points, while Duquesne finished with 159 points to round out this year’s top five in the women’s 5K.

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country Championship Awards

Men’s Champion/Most Outstanding Performer

Manuel De Backer, Saint Louis

Women’s Champion/Most Outstanding Performer

Heather MacLean, Massachusetts 

Men’s Coach of the Year

Jason Ordway, Dayton

Women’s Coach of the Year 

Jason Ordway, Dayton

Men’s Rookie of the Year

Ryan James, La Salle

Women’s Rookie of the Year

Caroline Clark, Massachusetts

Men’s All-Conference Team

Manuel de Backer, Saint Louis

Thomas Slattery, Fordham

Chris Negri, Dayton

JP Flavin, Dayton

Johnny Hogue, Richmond

Matthew Lage, George Washington

Dan Savage, Saint Joseph’s

Rico Galassi, Duquesne

Ryan Kutch, Fordham

Dylan Carmack, Davidson

Carter Day, George Washington

Bryce Catlett, VCU

Spencer Danielson, Dayton

Tyler Adgalanis, Dayton

Zachary Michon, Saint Joseph’s 

Women’s All-Conference Team 

Heather MacLean, Massachusetts

Sarah Sears, Davidson

Taylor Vernot, Dayton

Emily Leonard, Dayton

Colleen Carney, Richmond

Chloe Flora, Dayton

Jenny Delsignore, Duquesne

Kylie Regan, Richmond

Emily Borchers, Dayton

Caroline Yarbrough, Davidson

Grace Mancini, La Salle

Laurel Sheffield, Davidson

Amanda Corbosiero, Richmond

Madison Yerke, George Washington

Maddie Hunter, Davidson

More From A-10 Cross Country