UMass Wins 2017 Atlantic 10 Men's Soccer Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference

DAYTON, OHIO - Top-seeded Massachusetts won the 2017 Atlantic 10 Men's Soccer Championship Sunday at Dayton's Baujan Field, with a 3-1 victory over VCU. This is the Minutemen's third men's soccer championship and first since 2007.

The first half was a defensive battle, but the scoring opened up in the second half. Matthew Mooney got the Minutemen on the board first when he put Massachusetts up 1-0, the goal was assisted by Konrad Gorich.  VCU scored the equalizer 14 minutes later when Francesco Amorosino found the back of the net, evening the score at one all. 

Less than 10 minutes later, Mooney found the Rookie of the Year, Davis Smith, as he scored the would-be game-winning goal. With the Minutemen holding a 2-1 advantage, Alex DeSantis extended Massachusetts' lead, when he tacked on an insurance goal, assisted by Smith. 

Bardia Asefnia made four saves in the game on five shots faced. All-Rookie team selection Mario Sequeira, goalkeeper for VCU, faced five shots on goal, making two saves. 

The 2017 All-Championship team consisted of Konrad Gorich, Bardia Asefina, Brandon Merklin, Davis Smith, and Matthew Mooney of Massachusetts, Rafael Andrade Santos, Said Haji, and Francesco Amorosino from VCU, James Haupt of Dayton, Fordham's Jannik Loebe, and Rhode Island's Tyler Dickson. 

Mooney was recognized as the Most Outstanding Player of the 2017 Championship. He recorded one goal and an assist in the game for the Minutemen. 

The 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship bracket will be announced Monday prior to the first round of competition. 

More From A-10 Men's Soccer