La Salle Captures 2013 Atlantic 10 Championship on PKs

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


RICHMOND, Va. - The La Salle Explorers captured their second straight A-10 Championship Sunday at Sports Backers Stadium, advancing on penalty kicks after 110 minutes of even play. The Explorers earn the A-10's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship, their third straight appearance, and will find out who they will face in the first round during the selection show aired on at 4:30 p.m. Monday. 

Second-seeded La Salle (15-4-3) battled top-seed Dayton (15-4-2) to a 1-1 draw in the Championship finale, forcing the decision to penalty kicks. Both teams made four out of the original five shots in the first round of PK's, leading to a sixth shot that would end the game. Kerri Aiken sent a ball to the low right corner to score the fifth goal for the Explorers. Junior reserve goalkeeper, Katie Getzinger, who defended the goal for La Salle during penalty kicks, made the final save against Dayton junior Haley Keller's shot to end the game.

La Salle finished with five made penalty kicks from Maryam Huseini, Courtney Niemiec, Anna Dolhansky, Renee Washington, and Kerri Aiken, while the Flyers had successful attempts from Ashley Campbell, Meghan Scharer, Erin O'Malley, and Juliana Libertin. 

Dayton struck first with a Juliana Libertin header in the first minute of play. The corner set piece, sent in from Nicole Waters, was the senior's eighth goal of the season. Water's assist marked her 17th of the season and fourth of the tournament, breaking the all-time A-10 Championship record for assists.

La Salle would retaliate with a Kelsey Haycook score in the 36th minute of play when the junior collected a rebound off of a Deja Davis shot. Haycook's 15th goal of the season puts her in a tie for all-time career goals (40) at La Salle with teammate Renee Washington and former Explorer, Amy Schneider (1999-2002).

Honored on the 2013 All-Championship team from La Salle were seniors Renee Washington and Courtney Niemiec, redshirt senior Jourdan McVicker and junior Kelsey Haycook. From the Flyers, seniors Juliana Libertin, and sophomores Nicole Waters and Ashley Campbell earned All-Championship accolades. Rounding out the 11 member team were VCU senior Courtney Conrad, St. Bonaventure senior Megan Junker, and Massachusetts redshirt-freshman goalkeeper Danielle Kriscenski and sophomore Rebekka Sverrisdottir. 

Renee Washington was also honored as the Championship Most Outstanding Player. 


More From A-10 Women's Soccer