La Salle Runs Away with Menís Cross Country Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


MECHANICSVILLE, Va. – The La Salle Explorers won the 2013 Atlantic 10 Men’s Cross Country Championship Saturday morning with 27 points and an average time of 24:03.48. Nico Greco of La Salle was the individual winner with a time of 23:46.9. The Men’s 8K race was held at Pole Green Park and hosted by the University of Richmond.

La Salle finished with five competitors in the top 12, including Zach Sullivan and Nick Ross who finished second and fourth, respectively, to collect its ninth A-10 title in program history.

Head Coach Dan Ireland won Coach of the Year honors for the Explorers and John Mascioli of Saint Joseph’s was named Most Outstanding Rookie as the top freshman finisher (27th place). 

Saint Joseph’s finished second with an average time of 24:25.50 and 75 points. George Mason took third with 97 points and an average time of 24:36.54, while Massachusetts finished fourth with 133 points and an average time of 24:44.76. Duquesne rounded out the top five with 137 points and an average time of 24:44.50.

With a score of 170 and an average time of 24:56.66 Fordham finished sixth. Saint Louis came in seventh with 182 points, while Richmond followed in eighth with 194 points. Dayton and VCU rounded out the top 10 with ninth and tenth finishes, respectively. George Washington, Rhode Island and St. Bonaventure took the final three spots, respectively.

Joining Greco, Sullivan and Ross on the All-Conference team were Aaron Leskow (Saint Joseph’s), Logan Mohn (Saint Joseph’s), Tim Zellmer (Saint Louis), Jonathan Annelli (Fordam), Vince Perozze (La Salle), Michael Scolarici (Saint Louis), Antony Taylor (UMass), Michael Conway (George Mason), Ian Barnhill (La Salle), Benjamin Groleau (Massachusetts), John Holt (George Mason) and Bob Gasior (Duquesne).

2013 Atlantic 10 Conference

Men’s Cross Country Championship Awards


La Salle



Saint Joseph’s


Coach of the Year

Dan Ireland, La Salle


Most Outstanding Performer

Nico Greco, La Salle


Rookie of the Year

John Mascioli, Saint Joseph’s


All-Conference Team

Bob Gasior, Duquesne

Jonathan Annelli, Fordham

Michael Conway, George Mason

John Holt, George Mason 

Ian Barnhill, La Salle

Nico Greco, La Salle

Vince Perozze, La Salle

Nick Ross, La Salle

Zach Sullivan, La Salle

Benjamin Groleau, Massachusetts

Antony Taylor, Massachusetts

Aaron Leskow, Saint Joseph’s

Logan Mohn, Saint Joseph’s

Tim Zellmer, Saint Louis

Michael Scolarici, Saint Louis

More From A-10 Cross Country