Duquesne Captures First A-10 Women’s Cross Country Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


MECHANICSVILLE, Va. – The Duquesne Dukes captured the 2013 Atlantic 10 Women’s Cross Country Championship Saturday morning with 53 points and an average time of 17:28.90. Bethany Sachtleben of George Mason was the individual winner with a time of 16:54.6. The Women’s 5K race was held at Pole Green Park and hosted by the University of Richmond.

The Dukes finished with six competitors in the top 20, including Amber Valimont, Haley Pisarcik and Valerie Palermo who all finished in the top 10 to help collect the first A-10 title in Duquesne history.

Duquesne coach Tom Slosky won Coach of the Year honors for the Dukes and Marisa Ruskan of Richmond was named Most Outstanding Rookie as the top freshman finisher (8th place). 

The Spiders finished second with an average time of 17:34.06 and 73 points with the help of Jill Prentice’s second-place finish. La Salle took third with 118 points and an average time of 17:55.12, while Saint Louis followed in fourth with 119 points and an average time of 17:51.48. Massachusetts rounded out the top five with 152 points and an average time of 18:07.40.

With a score of 154 and an average time of 18:06.74, Saint Joseph’s finished sixth. Dayton came in seventh with 163 points, while George Mason followed in eighth with 200 points. Fordham and Rhode Island rounded out the top 10 with ninth and tenth finishes, respectively. St. Bonaventure and VCU took the final two spots.

Along with Sachtleben, Valimont, Pisarcik, Palermo, Ruskan and Prentice, Margo Richardson (Saint Louis), Tara Hanley (Richmond), Michelle Capozzi (La Salle), Jessica Hoefert (Saint Louis), Nicole Cargill (Dayton), Elizabeth Barrett (St. Joe’s), Kerry Caher (St. Bonaventure), Paige Ethier (Rhode Island) and Annika Gomell (Saint Louis) were all named to the 2013 Atlantic 10 All-Conference team.

2013 Atlantic 10 Conference

Women’s Cross Country Championship Awards







Coach of the Year

Tom Slosky, Duquesne


Most Outstanding Performer

Bethany Sachtleben, George Mason


Rookie of the Year

Marisa Ruskan, Richmond


All-Conference Team

Bethany Sachtleben, George Mason

Jill Prentice, Richmond

Margo Richardson, Saint Louis

Amber Valimont, Duquesne

Tara Hanley, Richmond

Haley Pisarcik, Duquesne

Michelle Capozzi, La Salle

Marisa Ruskan, Richmond

Jessica Hoefert, Saint Louis

Valerie Palermo, Duquesne

Nicole Cargill, Dayton

Elizabeth Barrett, Saint Joseph’s

Kerry Caher, St. Bonaventure

Paige Ethier, Rhode Island

Annika Gomell, Saint Louis

More From A-10 Cross Country