Ticket Galaxy

Rhode Island Men Win the 2013 A-10 Outdoor Track Championship

Release: 05/05/2013
Print RSS

May 5, 2013

2013 Championship Results Get Acrobat Reader

Photo Gallery

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Rhode Island men’s track and field team won the 2013 Atlantic 10 title on Sunday afternoon at the Irwin Belk Track and Field Center. The victory marks Rhode Island’s second outdoor championship in the last three seasons and ninth overall.

Rhode Island was led by first-place finishes from Mark Castilletti, Tyler Oliveira and Trent Baltzell. Castilletti won both the 110-meter hurdles (14.15) and the 400-meter hurdles (53.44). Crossing the line in 21.08, Oliveira was victorious in the 200-meters, while Baltzell won the Decathlon with 7,015 points.

Defending champion Charlotte finished in second with 175 points. Charlotte’s Anthony Campbell was named the Most Outstanding Male Rookie Performer. Campbell set a new meet record in the triple jump with a leap of 49’09.25. Senior Jake Deaton was named the Most Outstanding Male Performer following his wins in the shot put (57’08.25) and discus (181’03).

Rhode Island and Charlotte were followed by Butler (70), Temple (67), VCU (63), Saint Joseph’s (62), La Salle (51), Fordham (51), Massachusetts (37), Duquesne (34), Xavier (31), Saint Louis (9) and Richmond (6).

La Salle’s Alfredo Santana was named the Men’s Most Outstanding Track Performer following individual victories in both the 5,000 meters (14:25.19) and the 10,000 meters (29:58.69).

Rhode Island head coach John Copeland was named the Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year. Copeland has won the award seven times in Outdoor Track.

For complete results of the 2013 Atlantic 10 Men’s Track and Field Championship, visit

2013 A-10 Men’s Track & Field Awards
Most Outstanding Track Performer: Alfredo Santana, La Salle
Most Outstanding Field Performer: Jake Deaton, Charlotte
Most Outstanding Rookie Performer: Anthony Campbell, Charlotte
Coach of the Year: John Copeland, Rhode Island

It's On Us