UMass Repeats as A-10 Women’s Rowing Champions

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Mitchell Leff/Atlantic 10

PENNSAUKEN, N.J.—The University of Massachusetts successfully defended its title, winning the 2015 Atlantic 10 Conference Championship Saturday at Cooper River Park. The Minutewomen won their second straight A-10 crown and their 15th overall.

UMass, which scored 53 points to claim the title, also earned the Atlantic 10’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s Rowing Championship, which will be held May 29-31 in Gold River, Calif., at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center.

The championship came down to a thrilling final race, the Varsity 8. Massachusetts, Rhode Island (who finished second overall) and Saint Joseph’s (third place) were all within three points before the race, setting up a Varsity 8 that would decide the title. UMass won the Varsity 8 with a time of 6:50.23, with Rhody just three seconds behind at 6:53.27.

The Minutewomen also won the Second Varsity 8 with a time of 6:55.88 and placed second in the Varsity 4 with a 7:36.50.

Rhode Island finished with 47 points, winning the Varsity 4 at 7:31.10  and finishing second in the Varsity 8 with a time of 6:53.27. The Rams placed third in the Second Varsity 8 with a 7:04.47 and also won the non-scoring Third Varsity 8 at 7:10.45.

SJU placed third in the Varsity 4 (7:45.30) and second in the Second Varsity 8 (7:02.05). The Hawks finished third overall with 38 points. Duquesne was third in the Varsity 8 with a 6:55.41 and second in the Third Varsity 8 clocking in at 7:13.01. George Washington was third in the Third Varsity 8 (7:15.53).

Duquesne was fourth with 34 points and Dayton and George Mason tied for fifth with 26 points.

UMass will await the NCAA Rowing Championship selection show, which will air on at 5:00 pm on May 19.

More From A-10 Rowing