Ticket Galaxy

A-10 Concludes Annual Spring Meetings

Release: 06/09/2011
Print RSS

June 9, 2011

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The Atlantic 10 Conference Council of Presidents and Athletic Directors announced the 2011-12 Championship schedule approved at the annual spring business meeting.

Headlining the championship schedule was the Men's Basketball Championship which returns to Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J., for the sixth year in a row. The top 12 teams at the conclusion of the regular season will qualify for the tournament with the top four seeds earning a bye. First round action will be played on the campuses of teams seeded fifth-thru-eighth on Tuesday, March 6. The setting for the Championship then shifts to Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, March 9-11. The semifinals will be televised on CBS Sports Network, Saturday, March 10, while the championship game will air live on CBS for the third straight year on Sunday, March 11 at 1:00 p.m.

The 2012 A-10 Women's Basketball Championship will be held March 2-5, 2012 and hosted by Saint Joseph's University at Hagan Arena. The top 12 teams at the conclusion of the regular season will advance to the tournament, while each of the 12 women's teams will compete inside Hagan Arena. The A-10 will host a community outreach program prior to the league championship game which is scheduled to air live on ESPN2, March 5 at 5:00 p.m.

In other championship related news, the format for the Women's Tennis Championship was extended one day making it a four-day championship event for the 14 participating institutions. Additionally, the back-draw for both the Men's & Women's Tennis Championships was removed from the championship schedule resulting in a single-elimination format which will go into effect in 2012. Beginning in 2013, the dates for the men's and women's tennis championship were revised. The championships will be played at a later date alternating between the third and fourth weekends in April.

The A-10 Baseball Championship will return to campus sites on a three-year rotation beginning in 2012 with Fordham University and Houlihan Park serving as host of the championship in year one followed by Charlotte serving as host in 2013 and Saint Louis University in 2014.

The Atlantic 10 Rowing Championship will again be held at the Cooper River in Pennsauken, N.J., in 2012; however, the Championship dates have been moved to the first Saturday in May. The event will remain on this weekend allowing for a competitive transition to participate in the NCAA Championship.

In other business, the Conference approved the full report presented by the Championship Review Subcommittee. This report represented phase two of implementation of the league's five-year Strategic Initiative Plan adopted in November 2010. The Championship Review Subcommittee recommendations will become fully effective in August 2012.

2011-12 Atlantic 10 Conference Championship Schedule:
October 29 - Men's & Women's Cross Country - Host: Charlotte, Frank Liske Park
November 3-6 - Women's Soccer - Host: University of Dayton, Baujan Field
November 4-5 - Field Hockey - Host: Saint Joseph's University
November 10-13 - Men's Soccer - Host: Saint Louis University, Robert R. Hermann Stadium
November 18-20 - Volleyball - Host: University of Dayton, Frericks Center
February 17-18 - Men's & Women's Indoor Track & Field - Host: University of Rhode Island, Mackal Fieldhouse
February 22-25 - Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving - Host: St. Bonaventure University, Erie Community College
March 2-5 - Women's Basketball - Host: Saint Joseph's University, Hagan Arena
March 6 & 9-11 - Men's Basketball - Boardwalk Hall, Atlantic City, N.J.
April 13-15 - Men's Tennis - TBA
April 19-22 - Women's Tennis - Boar's Head Sports Club, Charlottesville, Va.
April 27-29 - Women's Lacrosse - Host: University of Richmond, Robins Stadium
April 27-29 - Men's Golf - Heron Bay Golf Club, Coral Springs, Fla.
May 5 - Rowing - Cooper River, Pennsauken, N.J.
May 5-6 - Men's & Women's Outdoor Track & Field - Host: University of Massachusetts, UMass Track & Field Complex
May 9-12 - Softball - Host: Saint Louis University, Billiken Sports Center
May 23-26 - Baseball - Host: Fordham University, Houlihan Park

About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976 and celebrated its 35th anniversary as a Division I Conference in 2010-11. Currently comprised of 14 member institutions and sponsoring 21 championship sports, the mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic pursuits of the membership. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, and Xavier University.

About The Atlantic 10 CHAMPIONSHIP
It's On Us