Jett, Weber, Crews Win Top A-10 Menís Basketball Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference
NEWPORT NEWS, Va.—Saint Louis senior guard Jordair Jett was voted the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Player of the Year and VCU junior guard Briante Weber was voted the A-10’s Defensive Player of the Year in the league’s annual postseason men’s basketball awards. Announced Tuesday, the conference also honored Saint Louis coach Jim Crews as Coach of the Year.

The other major awards announced Tuesday include Rookie of the Year, which was shared by Rhode Island’s E.C. Matthews and Saint Joseph’s DeAndre’ Bembry. George Washington’s Kevin Larsen was selected as the Chris Daniels Most Improved Player and the Sixth Man Award went to Melvin Johnson of VCU.

The awards, along with the All-Conference, All-Defensive and All-Rookie teams were voted on by the league’s 13 head coaches. The All-Academic Team was selected by a vote of the A-10’s men’s basketball media relations directors.

Jett led the Billikens to a 26-win season, including a school-record 19 straight wins. He ranked top 20 in the Atlantic 10 in scoring and top 10 in assists (third – 4.7 apg) and steals (sixth-1.5 spg). A native of St. Paul, Minn., he was also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Weber was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight year after leading the nation in steals during the regular season. Weber, a native of Chesapeake, Va., averaged 3.6 steals per game (he currently has 111) and he set the A-10 single season and VCU career steals records.

Crews, last year’s NABC Coach of the Year, was named A-10 Coach of the Year for the second straight year. He led the Billikens to 19 straight wins and SLU’s second straight Atlantic 10 regular season title with a 13-3 league record and a 26-5 overall mark. Saint Louis also has one of the best road records in the nation at 11-1.

Matthews was named A-10 Rookie of the Week seven times this season. He ranked 15th in scoring and was second on Rhode Island at 14.4 ppg. A guard from Detroit, Mich., he scored 20 or more points nine times this season. Bembry led the Hawks in steals and was third in scoring, rebounding, assists and blocked shots. A  forward from Charlotte, N.C., he was twice named A-10 Rookie of the Week and played a key role in Saint Joseph’s 21-win regular season.

Larsen, a sophomore forward from Copenhagen, Denmark, averaged 11.3 points and 7.1 rebounds during the regular season. This is a jump from last year’s 8.5 points and 5.0 rebounds per game and one of the reasons for GW’s jump to third place at 11-5 in league play and 23-7 overall.

Johnson came off the bench in all but five games this season, but still managed to average 10.5 ppg, making him third in scoring for VCU. A sophomore guard from the Bronx, N.Y., he ranked in the top 10 in the league in 3-pointers made.

Tickets for the championship can be purchased through Ticketmaster,, or at the Barclays Center Box Office.


 2013-14 Atlantic 10 Men’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year:  Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

Defensive Player of the Year:  Briante Weber, VCU

Co-Rookies of the Year:  DeAndre’ Bembry, Saint Joseph’s; E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Chris Daniels Most Improved Player:  Kevin Larsen, George Washington

Sixth Man Award: Melvin Johnson, VCU

Coach of the Year: Jim Crews

First Team All-Conference

Chaz Williams, UMass

Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph's

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

Treveon Graham, VCU

Second Team All-Conference

Isaiah Armwood, George Washington

Tyreek Duren, La Salle

Kendall Anthony, Richmond

Halil Kanacevic, Saint Joseph's

Juvonte Reddic, VCU

Third Team All-Conference

Devin Oliver, Dayton

Ovie Soko, Duquesne

Maurice Creek, George Washington

Patricio Garino, George Washington

Ronald Roberts, Jr., Saint Joseph's

All-Academic Team

John Kopriva, George Washington

Nemanja Mikic, George Washington

Gilvydas Biruta, Rhode Island

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Jake Barnett, Saint Louis


All-Defensive Team

Isaiah Armwood, George Washington

Patricio Garino, George Washington

Steve Zack, La Salle

Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

Briante Weber, VCU

All-Rookie Team

Jon Severe, Fordham

Jalen Jenkins, George Mason

Hassan Martin, Rhode Island

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

DeAndre’ Bembry, Saint Joseph's

More From A-10 Men's Basketball