Ticket Galaxy

Richmond Women, Dayton Men Win Atlantic 10 Cross Country Championships

Release: 10/29/2016
Print RSS
Courtesy: Keith Lucas/Atlantic 10




GLEN ALEN, Va. — Richmond won its second straight Atlantic 10 Women’s Cross Country title and Dayton won its first-ever A-10 Men’s Cross Country title Saturday at Pole Green Park. Massachusetts junior Heather MacLean won the women’s race and Duquesne’s Rico Galassi won the men’s race.

It was the fifth A-10 women’s title for the Spiders, who had five runners finish in the top 20, led by Kylie Reagan, who finished 13th at 17:52.7. UR sophomore Ave Grosenheider and freshman Claire Brown finished in 14th and 15th with times of 17:54.2 and 17:55.3, respectively. Sophomore Colleen Carney and junior Shelby Cain rounded out the top five to seal the win for the Spiders. Richmond coach Lori Taylor was named the 2016 A-10 Women’s Coach of the Year.

Massachusetts junior Heather MacLean was named the women’s Most Outstanding Performer. MacLean finished first overall in the women’s 5k race with at time of 17:06.8, crossing the line 13 seconds ahead of the next finisher.  The Most Outstanding Rookie Performer was Chloe Flora from Dayton who finished fifth overall with a time of 17:26.7. 

Dayton and Duquesne finished tied with 88 team points. Dayton was awarded second place through the tiebreaker policy. The Flyers were led by fourth-place overall finisher Taylor Vernot (17:26.7), while Duquesne was led by second-place overall finisher senior Valerie Palermo (17:20.4).  Davidson was fourth with 109 points and Massachusetts rounded out the top five with 150 points.

The Flyer men’s team finished with 57 team points, en route to capturing their first A-10 Cross Country championship in team history. Dayton was led by two top ten finishers, senior Hunter Johnston who finished second with a time of 24.42.4 and sophomore Chris Negri who finished seventh with at time of 24:56.0. Overall, the Flyers had six runners finish among the top 30 performers. Dayton coach Jason Ordway was named the 2016 Men’s Coach of the Year after his team’s record performance.

Duquesne junior Rico Galassi was named the men’s Most Outstanding Performer. Galassi finished first overall in the men’s five-mile race with a time 24:32.3. The Men’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer was Joshua Clark from Saint Joseph’s with a time 25:29.8, finishing 23rd overall.

Duquesne finished second overall with 77 points, led by first place finisher Galassi. Saint Louis finished third with 85 points, led by fourth place finisher, sophomore Manuel de Baker with a time of 24:47.3. George Mason finished fourth overall with 102 points, and St. Joseph’s rounded out the top five with 130 point.

Men’s & Women’s Cross Country Championship Awards

Men’s Champion/Most Outstanding Performer
Rico Galassi, Duquesne

Women’s Champion/Most Outstanding Performer
Heather MacLean, Massachusetts

Men’s Coach of the Year
Jason Ordway, Dayton

Women’s Coach of the Year
Lori Taylor, Richmond

Men’s Most Outstanding Performer
Rico Galassi, Duquesne

Women’s Most Outstanding Performer
Heather MacLean, Massachusetts

Men’s Rookie of the Year
Joshua Clark, Saint Joseph’s

Women’s Rookie of the Year
Chloe Flora, Dayton

Men’s All Conference Team
Rico Galassi, Duquesne
Hunter Johnston, Dayton
John Mogen, Davidson
Mauel de Baker, Saint Louis
Christian Kazanjian, Duquesne
Fran Ferruzzi, La Salle
Chris Negri, Dayton
Cordon Louco, Duquesne
Neal Fitzpatrick, Saint Louis
Logan Miller, George Mason
Thomas Slattery, Fordham
Brian Cook, Fordham
Matt Prest, Saint Louis
Spencer Danielson, Dayton
Tyler Adgalanis, Dayton

Women’s All Conference Team
Heather MacLean, Massachusetts
Kaitlin Poiesz, La Salle
Valerie Palermo, Duquesne
Taylor Vernot, Dayton
Chloe Flora, Dayton
Autumn Greba, Duquesne
Jenny Delsignore, Duquesne
Ciara Donohue, George Mason
Caroline Yarbrough, Davidson,
Macaulay Porter, George Washington
Lindsey Oremus, Saint Joseph’s
Cassidy Weimer, Saint Joseph’s
Kylie Regan, Richmond
Ave Grosenheider, Richmond
Claire Brown, Richmond


It's On Us