Willocks, Kreusch, Serrano and Farquhar Claim Top Atlantic 10 Annual Field Hockey Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Saint Joseph’s sophomore Anna Willocks and freshman Pepa Serrano, Massachusetts junior Melanie Kreusch and Saint Joseph’s coach Lynn Farquhar earned the Atlantic 10 Conference’s top field hockey awards.

Willocks was chosen as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year by vote of the head field hockey coaches. Kreusch was named Defensive Player of the Year, Serrano was named Rookie of the Year and Farquhar was selected by her peers as A-10 Coach of the Year. The A-10 announced the four awards, the All-Conference, All-Rookie and All-Academic teams Thursday ahead of the 2016 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship, which begins Friday at VCU’s Cary Street Field.

Willocks, the reigning Player and Rookie of the  Year lead the A-10 in goals (23) and points (57), including scoring 10 goals in conference play with 26 points. She ranks second nationally in points per game with 3.00 and tied for second nationally in goals per game with a 1.21 average. A native of Palmerston North, New Zealand, she has produced nine game-winning goals, five of which came in conference play. Throughout the 2016 season she also tabbed 11 assists, helping the Hawks go undefeated in conference play, earning the regular season title as well as a berth to the A-10 championship.

Kreusch anchored Massachusetts defense while also scoring six goals, which is tied for third on the Minutewomen’s team and fourth in points (13). The center back from Brussels, Belgium added one defensive save to her stellar season. Her key play had helped the Minutewomen to only allow 1.50 goals per game and the defense is tied for first in shutouts (3) during A-10 games.

Serrano, a freshman from Buenos Aires, Argentina, is tied for the league lead in assists with six. She is tied for second on the Hawks’ squad in points, and ranks among league leaders in shots per game. Serrano scored the game-winner in overtime that clinched Saint Joseph’s first regular season title in 21 years.

Farquhar led the Hawks to their first Atlantic 10 regular season title since 1995 and an 8-0 record in conference play. Under her watch, Saint Joseph’s edged defending champion Massachusetts 3-2 in overtime. She is in her third season on Hawk Hill and has lead Saint Joseph’s to its second A-10 Championship since 2009. 

The league also announced the All-Conference First and Second Teams, the 11- member All-Rookie Team and the All-Academic Team, comprised of 11 student-athletes with academic and athletic success.

The 2016 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Championship begins with Friday’s semifinals in which top-seeded Saint Joseph’s faces No. 4 Saint Francis and No. 2 Richmond plays third-seeded Massachusetts. The championship final will be played Saturday at 2:00 pm with the winner advancing to the NCAA Tournament.

2016 Atlantic 10 Field Hockey Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s

Defensive Player of the Year: Melanie Kreusch, Massachusetts

Rookie of the Year: Pepa Serrano, Saint Joseph’s

Coach of the Year: Lynn Farquhar, Saint Joseph’s


All-Conference First Team

Izzie Delario, Massachusetts

Sarah Hawkshaw, Massachusetts

Melanie Kreusch, Massachusetts

Megan Miller, Richmond

Kelly Quinn, Richmond

Thalia Williamson, Richmond

Elizabeth Dyer, Saint Francis

Shannon Pereira, Saint Francis

Kerri Turk, Saint Joseph’s

Pepa Serrano, Saint Joseph’s

Anna Willocks, Saint Joseph’s

Emily McNamara, VCU


All-Conference Second Team

Katherine English, Davidson

Rachel Hartman, La Salle 

Kendall Kreider, La Salle

Abbey Lawrence, La Salle

Lydia George, Lock Haven

Colleen McCabe, Lock Haven

Paige Stuppy, Lock Haven 

Stephanie Whiteman, Lock Haven

Megan Wenrich, Lock Haven

Anne Dijkstra, Massachusetts

Celina Hocks, Massachusetts

Nicole Miller, Massachusetts

Brea Seabrook, Saint Francis


All-Rookie Team

Dana De Gannes, Lock Haven

Celina Hocks, Massachusetts

Amanda DaSilva, Richmond

Abby Lyons, Richmond

Elizabeth Dyer, Saint Francis

Taylin Lehman, Saint Francis

Kathrin Bentz, Saint Joseph’s

Victoria Kammerinke, Saint Joseph’s

Doris Offerhaus, Saint Joseph’s

Pepa Serrano, Saint Joseph’s

Rebecca Ward, VCU


All-Academic Team

Becca Jones, Davidson

Lauren McFayden, Davidson

Sophie Lozowski, La Salle

Katie O’Grady, La Salle

Lydia George, Lock Haven

Nicole Kuerzi, Massachusetts

Cliodhna Loughlin, Massachusetts

Kyra Castano, Saint Francis

Carly Gromel, Saint Francis

Alexis Albright, VCU

Chessa Kownurko, VCU


More From A-10 Field Hockey