Ticket Galaxy

Massachusetts Men and Duquesne Women Lead A-10 Swimming & Diving Championships After Day Two

Release: 02/16/2017
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

GENEVA, OHIO—The Massachusetts men, with 204 points, hold a slight lead, while the Duquesne women lead with 209 points after two days of competition at the 2017 Atlantic 10 Swimming and Diving  Championships at the SPIRE Institute.

The Minutemen scored 111 points Thursday, placing six student-athletes in individual final events and earning the team a total of 77 points. UMass’ other 34 points on the day came from a second place finish in the 200-yard freestyle. Leading the way were juniors Owen Wright and Trent Kindvall who finished fourth in the 50-yard freestyle and fourth in 1 meter diving, respectively.

Following Massachusetts in the men’s standings after day two of competition are La Salle (199), George Washington (177), George Mason (157.5), St. Bonaventure (152), Fordham (146.5), Saint Louis (144) and Davidson (80). Every mens team placed a student-athlete on the medal platform throughout all events on night two. Michael White Jr. from SBU and Cameron Fadley, Fabian Bergman and Jerry Gravel from La Salle finished with NCAA B times in the 200-yard IM.

The Dukes took the lead on day two with 209 points. Junior Lexi Santer finished third in the 200-yard IM with an NCAA B time of 2:01.02. Duquesne also finished second in the 200-yard freestyle relay where Kristen McKnight, Emily Thirion, Carson Gross and Shelly Heim teamed up to finish in 1:32.77.

Davidson senior Elise Lankiewicz broke a championship, conference, and pool record with her 4:43.49 NCAA B time run of the 500-yard freestyle. She topped her previous record by 1.39 seconds, which she set at last year’s A-10 Championship.

George Mason senior Sydney Fisher also broke a championship, conference, and pool record with her 22.51 finish in the 50-yard freestyle. The record was broken earlier in the day by Fisher herself in the prelims, and  she touched the wall 0.09 seconds faster in the finals, recording the new time to beat as well as a NCAA B time qualifying performance.

Following Duquesne in pursuit of the A-10 title are Richmond (189), Massachusetts (178), Davidson (167), Fordham (165.5), George Mason (105), George Washington (104), Saint Louis (89), Rhode Island (81.5), St. Bonaventure (76) and La Salle (72).

Richmond, Massachusetts, Duquesne, Fordham and George Washington had student-athletes with performances that qualified as NCAA B times in the 200-yard IM.

Action resumes Friday morning with the preliminary events beginning at 10:00 am and finals at 6:30 pm. 


It's On Us