2017 Atlantic 10 Volleyball End-of-Year Awards Announced

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.— Dayton seniors Amber Erhahon and Jane Emmenecker, Saint Louis freshman Maya Taylor, VCU senior Rebekah Strange and VCU head coach Jody Rogers earned the Atlantic 10 Conference’s top volleyball awards.

The Atlantic 10 announced the five awards along with the All-Conference, All-Rookie and All-Academic teams Thursday prior to the 2017 A-10 Volleyball Championship that begins Friday at A.J. Palumbo Center in Pittsburgh, Pa. The major awards, All-Conference Teams and All-Rookie Team were voted on by the A-10’s head volleyball coaches. The All-Academic team was selected by the volleyball media relations directors.

Erhahon, a middle blocker from Albany, Calif., was named the Atlantic 10 Player of the year following a season in which she received weekly A-10 accolades on four occasions and led the league in hitting percentage (.458) in addition to ranking in the top five in blocks (118) and blocks per set (1.18).

Strange, a libero from Avon, Ind., earned A-10 Libero of the Year honors after leading the A-10 in digs per set averaging 5.02. She was named the A-10 Defensive Player of the Week three times and had four performances in which she recorded 30 or more digs in a match.

A senior from Perrysburg, Ohio, Emmenecker was named A-10 Setter of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. She ranked third in the A-10 in assists per set, averaging 9.05.  She also led an offense that ranked first in overall and conference-only hitting percentage and finished first in overall and conference-only kills per set.  


Taylor, an outside hitter from Idaho Falls, Idaho, earned A-10 Rookie of the Year honors after finishing second in the A-10 in kills per set (3.48) and fourth in total kills (327). The two-time A-10 Rookie of the Week led all freshman in kills, kills per set, points, and points per set.


Rogers won her first Coach of the Year award after leading VCU to its first A-10 regular season title and a perfect 14-0 record to earn the championship’s top seed.

The 2017 Atlantic 10 Volleyball Championship begins Friday with two matches between No. 4 Duquesne and No. 5 Rhode Island in the first quarterfinal and No. 3 Saint Louis and No. 6 George Washington in the second quarterfinal. No. 1 VCU and No. 2 Dayton will face the two winners in Saturday’s semifinals. The championship final will be played Sunday at 1:00 pm ET. All three rounds of the A-10 championship will be streamed live on the A-10 Network.

2017 Atlantic 10 Volleyball Awards

Player of the Year: Amber Erhahon, Dayton

Libero of the Year: Rebekah Strange, VCU

Setter of the Year: Jane Emmenecker, Dayton

Rookie of the Year: Maya Taylor, Saint Louis

Coach of the Year: Jody Rogers, VCU 


All-Conference First Team

Kendyll Brown, Dayton

Lauren Bruns, Dayton

Jane Emmenecker, Dayton (setter)

Amber Erhahon, Dayton

Sien Gallop, Saint Louis

Tori Baldwin, VCU

Alicia Kandler, VCU

Rebekah Strange, VCU


All-Conference Second Team

Margo Wolf, Dayton

Dani Suiter, Duquesne (setter)

Abbie Trzeciak, Duquesne

Olivia Fairchild, Fordham

Marie Gillcrist, Rhode Island

Lauren Leverenz, Saint Louis

Vicky Giommarini, VCU


All-Rookie Team

Ellie Crosley, Davidson

Bridget Doherty, Dayton

Maria Mosbacher, Duquesne

McKenna Lahr, Fordham

Live Lunde Fossdal, Rhode Island

Kennedy Cordia, Saint Louis

Maya Taylor, Saint Louis


All-Academic Team

Mason Rooney, Davidson

Margo Wolf, Dayton

Dani Suiter, Duquesne

Olivia Fairchild, Fordham

Katrina Santos, George Mason

Madison Kuch, La Salle

Jensen Sharrits, La Salle

Kylee Wolfe, Rhode Island

Alicia Kandler, VCU

Gina Tuzzolo, VCU

More From A-10 Volleyball