George Washington Wins the 2018 Men's Swimming and Diving Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

GENEVA, OHIO – The George Washington Colonials took home their second consecutive Atlantic 10 Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship, finishing with a total of 689 points after four days of competition at the SPIRE Institute.

The Colonials entered the last day of competition with a commanding lead and only made their lead larger when Moritz Fath captured gold in the 1,650-yard freestyle. His time of 15:35.64 was nearly two seconds faster than the second place finisher. The Men’s Most Outstanding Performer, Gustav Hokfelt, set a new A-10 record in the 200-yard backstroke. Hokfelt touched the wall in 1:41.97, just barely edging out La Salle’s Fabian Bergman. Max Forstenhaeusler and Tommi Wolst both took home silver medals for the Colonials. Hokfelt, Forstenhaeusler, Alex Auster Jr., and Adam Drury ended the night on a positive note for George Washington by bringing home the 400-yard freestyle relay gold medal. They finished over one second ahead of second place.

George Mason finished second with 541 points. Michael Pettinichi added 20 points to the Patriots total when he touched the wall first in the 200-yard breaststroke, while Christopher Stankiewicz claimed fourth place. In one of the most exciting races of the night, Matthew Lynch and teammate Andres Alarcon battled for first down the very end. Lynch touched the wall in 1:47.69 compared to Alarcon’s time of 1:47.70.

La Salle took home third place with 431 points. Fabian Bergman, Sammy Odtallah, Norman Gregory, and Marcus Forsgren took home second place for the Explorers in the 400-yard freestyle. By finishing second, that allowed them to finish third overall in the championship standings.

Trailing George Washington, George Mason, and La Salle in the final standings were Massachusetts (411), Saint Louis (408), Davidson (350.5), St. Bonaventure (343.5), and Fordham (331).

The Men’s Most Outstanding Rookie was Tjaard Krusch, who was the top performing swimmer for the Bonnies. Dylan Yurasits from La Salle was named the Men’s Most Outstanding Diver by winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving competitions.

James Winchester of George Washington and Peter Ward of George Mason were named Men’s Co-Coaches of the Year. Steve Kuttruff of La Salle was named Men's Diving Coach of the Year.

2018 A-10 Men's Swimming & Diving Awards

Men's Most Outstanding Performer: Gustav Hokfelt, George Washington

Men's Most Outstanding Rookie Performer: Tjaard Krusch, St. Bonaventure

Men's Most Outstanding Diver: Dylan Yurasits, La Salle

Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Steve Kuttruff, La Salle

Men's Co-Coaches of the Year: James Winchester, George Washington; Peter Ward, George Mason

More From A-10 Swimming & Diving