Aldridge, Adams Named Atlantic 10 Co-Players of the Year, Rhode Island's Hurley Voted as Coach of the Year

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

WASHINGTON — Davidson senior forward Peyton Aldridge and St. Bonaventure senior guard Jaylen Adams were named the Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Basketball Co-Players of the Year while Rhode Island coach Dan Hurley was voted A-10 Coach of the Year. The league announced its awards Tuesday in advance of the 2018 Men’s Basketball Championship, which begins Wednesday at Capital One Arena.


George Washington senior forward Yuta Watanabe was named Defensive Player of the Year while Davidson freshman guard Kellan Grady was selected as Rookie of the Year. Massachusetts sophomore guard Luwane Pipkins and St. Bonaventure junior forward LaDarien Griffin were voted as the Chris Daniels Award co-winners, which is given to the A-10’s Most Improved Player. Duquesne junior guard Tarin Smith was selected as the Sixth Man of the Year.


The major awards, the 15-member All-Conference teams, All-Defensive and All-Rookie teams were all nominated and voted by the conference’s 14 head coaches. The basketball communications directors select the five-member All-Academic team.


Aldridge and Grady led Davidson to a third-place finish in the A-10. Aldridge led the league in scoring with 21.3 points per game and had the most points in a single game with 45 last week at St. Bonaventure. Grady averaged 17.9 points per game, and had 10 games this year where he scored 20 or more points.


Adams scored 20.5 points per game, leading St. Bonaventure to a second-place finish in the A-10 and a 12-game winning streak to finish the regular season. He was third in assists with 5.2 assists per game.


Hurley, in his sixth season at Rhode Island, guided the Rams to a 23-6 overall record and a 15-3 A-10 mark. Rhode Island won the A-10 regular season for the second time in school history.


Defensively, Watanabe was third in blocked shots with 1.6 per game. He leads the league in minutes played, and he also ranked ninth in scoring with 16.6 points per game.


Pipkins increased his scoring productivity by 10.9 points per game from his freshman season. Twice named A-10 Player of the Week, he was named USBWA National Co-Player of the Week. Griffin improved in nearly every statistical category from a year ago, including points (8.7 from 2.7 per game), rebounds (6.4 from 2.2 per game) and blocks (1.8 from 0.4 per game).


Smith averaged 12.3 points and 3.3 assists per game, and came off the bench in 26 of Duquesne’s first 30 games. Four of his five 20-point games have come off the bench and he scored in double digits 17 times when not starting.

The 2018 Championship begins Wednesday with two first-round games that will air on Stadium. Thursday features four second-round games and the quarterfinals are Friday. Thursday’s and Friday’s games will be carried by NBCSN. Semifinals begin Saturday at 1:00 pm on CBS Sports Network and the Championship final is Sunday at 1:00 pm on CBS Sports. Tickets are available at

2017-18 Atlantic 10 Men's Basketball End-of-Year Awards

Co-Players of the Year

Peyton Aldridge, Davidson

Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure


Defensive Player of the Year

Yuta Watanabe, George Washington


Rookie of the Year

Kellan Grady, Davidson


Chris Daniels Co-Most Improved Player

Luwane Pipkins, Massachusetts

LaDarien Griffin, St. Bonaventure


Sixth Man of the Year

Tarin Smith, Duquesne


Coach of the Year

Dan Hurley, Rhode Island


All-Conference First Team

Peyton Aldridge, Davidson

Jared Terrell, Rhode Island

Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure

Matt Mobley, St. Bonaventure

Justin Tillman, VCU


All-Conference Second Team

Kellan Grady, Davidson

Otis Livingston II, George Mason

B.J. Johnson, La Salle

Luwane Pipkins, Massachusetts

Shavar Newkirk, Saint Joseph’s


All- Conference Third Team

Josh Cunningham, Dayton

Yuta Watanabe, George Washington

E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island

Grant Golden, Richmond

James Demery, Saint Joseph’s


All-Academic Team

Joseph Chartouny, Fordham

Prokop Slanina, Fordham

Patrick Steeves, George Washington

B.J Johnson, La Salle

Jeff Dowtin, Rhode Island


All-Defensive Team

Joseph Chartouny, Fordham

Yuta Watanabe, George Washington

Stanford Robinson, Rhode Island

Javon Bess, Saint Louis

Justin Tillman, VCU


All-Rookie Team

Kellan Grady, Davidson

Jalen Crutcher, Dayton

Eric Williams, Jr., Duquesne

Grant Golden, Richmond

Hasahn French, Saint Louis









More From A-10 Men's Basketball