Dayton, George Washington Headed to the NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference



NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Two Atlantic 10 teams, Dayton and George Washington, were selected to compete in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament on Monday evening. This marks the ninth occurrence in the last 10 years that A-10 has had multiple teams in the NCAA field. Duquesne, Fordham, George Mason, Saint Joseph's and Saint Louis were selected to compete in the Women's National Invitational Tournament (WNIT).
George Washington (19-13), the Atlantic 10 Champion, received the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament after defeating Saint Joseph’s in the A-10 title game. The Colonials entered the championship as the No. 5 seed and recorded four consecutive wins to capture the conference title.
George Washington will open the postseason as a No. 14 seed and will travel to Columbus, Ohio, to face No. 3 seed Ohio State in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday at 1:30 pm ET.
Dayton (23-6), the A-10 regular season champions, enter the tournament as a No. 9 seed and will face No. 8 Marquette in the first round in Louisville, Ky. on Friday at 2:30 pm ET. The Flyers have won 17 of their 19 contests overall and were 15-1 in the conference play.

The Atlantic 10 tied for the most selections in the WNIT field with five teams. This marks the second consecutive year the A-10 has had five teams in the field.

Duquesne (23-7) is making its 10th consecutive postseason appearance. The Dukes will face Miami (OH) in the first round of the WNIT on Thursday.

Fordham’s appearance in the WNIT will be mark the fifth time in the past six years that the Rams (22-9) have participated in postseason play. The Rams will host Harvard on Friday.

George Mason (23-9), is led by A-10 Player of the Year Natalie Butler, will be making its third-ever postseason appearance. The Patriots will host Stephen F. Austin on Friday at EagleBank Arena.

Saint Joseph’s (18-14) will face Seton Hall on Wednesday. The Hawks are making their second consecutive appearance in the WNIT. The winner of that game will advance to face the winner of West Virginia and Bucknell.

Saint Louis (17-15) is participating in postseason play for the third straight season and only the fourth time in program history. The Billikens will travel to Kansas State on Thursday evening.   

A full list of postseason matchups, date/time and TV coverage is below. 


No. 9 Dayton vs. No. 8 Marquette
Lexington Region First Round
Friday, March 16, 2:30 pm ET
KFC Yum Center, Louisville, Ky.

No. 14 George Washington vs. No. 3 Ohio State
Spokane Region First Round
Saturday, March 17, 1:30 pm ET
St. John Arena, Columbus, Ohio


Saint Joseph’s at Seton Hall
Wednesday, March 14, 7:00 pm ET
Walsh Gymnasium, South Orange, N.J.
Duquesne at Miami (OH)
Thursday, March 15, 7:00 pm ET
Millett Hall, Miami, Ohio
Saint Louis at Kansas State
Thursday, March 15, 8:00 pm ET
Bramlage Coliseum, Manhattan, Kan.
Harvard at Fordham
Friday, March 16, 7:00 pm ET
Rose Hill Gym, Bronx, N.Y.
Stephen F. Austin at George Mason
Friday, March 16, 7:00 pm ET
EagleBank Arena, Fairfax, Va.

More From A-10 Women's Basketball