Davidson Wins First Atlantic 10 Golf Title; Blasey, Ross Earn Medalist, Rookie Honors

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

ORLANDO — Davidson won its first-ever Atlantic 10 Conference golf title Sunday, shooting an 891 at the league’s 2018 Championship at the Villas of Grand Cypress.

Anchored by Medalist Mike Blasey and Most Outstanding Rookie Alex Ross, the Wildcats claimed the Atlantic 10’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regional Tournament. Blasey finished with a 218 (74-70-74) while Ross placed tied for third with a 221 (75-72-74).

In addition to the tournament awards, George Washington’s Logan Lowe was named Player of the Year while Ross earned Rookie of the Year. Tim Straub of Davidson was voted coach of the Year. The A-10 also announced the 2017-18 All-Conference team.

Hoke Carlton tied for eighth for Davidson with a 224 (73-77-74) and All-Conference selection Jack Lang, who was the 2017 Medalist, placed fourth with a 230 (78-75-77). Michael Freeman scored a 237 (83-79-75) for the Wildcats

Dayton finished six strokes behind Davidson to place second with an 897 (300-302-295). The Flyers were led by All-Conference selections Tripp French and Domenic Maricocchi. French also tied for third with a 221 (71-78-72), while Maricocchi tied for eighth with a 224 (75-74-75).

Rhode Island placed third thanks to outstanding play by Brody King, who carded a 220 (72-73-75) to place second overall. The Rams scored 902 (308-297-297) as a team. VCU had two top-10 finishes in Alister Balcombe and Sachin Kumar to place fourth with a 904 (303-309-292). Balcombe, an All-Conference selection had a 222 (72-76-74) to tie for fifth and Kumar placed seventh with a 223 (78-75-70).

All-Conference Performer Matthew Lowe scored a 222 (75-73-74) to tie for fifth and push Richmond into fifth place with a 908 (304-309-295). George Mason Was sixth, carding a 909 (305-310-294) and Fordham was seventh at 919 (311-308-300). Fordham was led by James Mongey, who cracked the top 10 with a 225 (76-73-76).

George Washington was eighth, Saint Joseph’s was ninth, St. Bonaventure 10th and La Salle 11th to round out the field.

The other All-Conference selections were Caleb Wolters of Dayton, Eric Edwards of George Mason, Dawson Jones of Rhode Island and VCU’s Kristian Tannum Donaldson.

The NCAA Men’s Golf Selection show will air on the Golf Channel on Wednesday, May 2 at 5:30 pm.

More From A-10 Men's Golf