UMass Set to Defend A-10 Rowing Title Against Competitive Field Saturday

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


PENNSAUKEN, N.J. – Massachusetts rowing will be looking for its fourth A-10 title in five years when the 2018 Atlantic 10 Conference Rowing Championship begins Saturday at Cooper River Park.

The championship begins with the heats at 8:00 am, and the finals will start at 10:30 am. The award ceremony will take place at approximately 1:15 pm. Live results for each race of the championship can be found at the Rowing Championship Page.

The winner of the Atlantic 10 Championship will earn the league’s automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

The Minutewomen have the top boat in the Varsity 4 and top three boats in the other two scoring events, the Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8, per the Atlantic 10’s final in-season rankings. An old foe, Rhode Island stands in UMass’ way, with the top ranked boat in both the Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8. The Rams, which last won the title in 2016, also have the No. 2 ranked boat in the Varsity 4.

George Washington should also challenge for the title, which would be the first crown for GW in A-10 history. The Colonials have the second-ranked boats in the Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8. Saint Joseph’s, which has the third ranked boat in the Varsity 4, is the only team other than UMass and Rhody to win the A-10 title.

Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, George Mason, La Salle will all be looking for their first conference title Saturday as well. Duquesne and Fordham each have top-five ranked boats in scoring events.

In addition to the three scoring events, the Atlantic 10 will also run a Third Varsity 8 race. That race, which will be finals only, begins at 10:30 am.

Following the championship, the league will hold its annual awards ceremony, where race medals, All-Conference and Coach of the Year will be handed out. All-Conference is based on nominations from coaches and race finish, which Coach of the Year is chosen by a vote of the league’s nine head coaches. UMass head coach Jim Dietz won Coach of the Year last year.



More From A-10 Rowing