Saint Louis Wins 2018 A-10 Baseball Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

ARLINGTON, Va.— Top-seeded Saint Louis captured its fourth Atlantic 10 Conference baseball title, defeating No. 2 George Mason 5-0 Saturday at Tucker Field.


The Billikens (38-13) claimed their first A-10 title sine 2013 and earned the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals. The NCAA Selection Show is slated for Monday (Memorial Day), May 28 at noon on ESPNU.


Junior Drew Reveno (10-2) spun a gem from the mound, throwing seven shutout innings with only three hits and seven strikeouts in earning the win and the Championship’s Most Outstanding Player.


Four different Billikens had a pair of hits, while Kyle Fletcher had two runs and Jake Garella tallied two RBI.


The Billikens struck first, scoring on an RBI single by Aaron Case in the second inning that send Alex King home. They scored again in the fifth, first on a single by Garella that plated Fletcher. King then took a bases-loaded plunking that sent Nick Reeser trotting home. The Billikens got another bases-loaded run, this one on a walk to Garella that again scored Fletcher. Case hit a solo homer in the eighth to top off the SLU scoring.


Tyler Nelin, Trevor Kelly and Daniel Brooks each had a hit to lead Mason. Austin Cabone (0-1) took the loss, allowing three runs on six hits with five strikeouts.


Joining Reveno on the All-Championship team from Saint Louis was King, Reeser and Parker Sniatynski. Kelly, Michael Smith and Greg Popatak were named All-Championship from George Mason. For their performances earlier in the week, Kyle Adams (Richmond), Evan Roberts and Justin Lebek (Davidson), and Nathan Woods and Dominic D’Alessandro (George Washington) also earned All-Championship nods.

More From A-10 Baseball