Atlantic 10 Women's Basketball 2019, 2020, 2021 Championship Sites Announced

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.—The Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Basketball Championship will return to campus the next three years with the quarterfinals, semifinals and championship game being held at Duquesne University in 2019, the University of Dayton in 2020 and VCU in 2021.


The announcement made Tuesday by the A-10 solidifies the championship sites through 2021 after holding the championship at the Richmond Coliseum in Richmond, Va., the past five years. The Richmond Coliseum is involved in a scheduled redevelopment project and currently unavailable.


“The ability to bring to our women’s basketball championship back to campus and to three outstanding host institutions, allows us the opportunity to continue to grow the championship throughout the Atlantic 10 footprint,” stated A-10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade.


With the return to campus, the A-10 Championship will feature the quarterfinals, semifinals and championship final games Friday through Sunday at a single-site. The current first-round format of six games hosted by seeds 3-8 at home venues will remain. The top two championship seeds will continue to receive a bye to the quarterfinals.


“The host schools are each located in cities with a tremendous history of hosting events and will provide a great championship environment for our student-athletes, coaches and fans,” said A-10 Senior Associate Commissioner Debbie Richardson.


The 2019 A-10 Championship will be March 8-10, 2019, with the first round being held on Tuesday, March 5. The first-round games as well the championship quarterfinals, will be available live on ESPN+, while the semifinals games will air on CBS Sports Network. ESPNU will air the A-10 championship final, the 22nd straight year an ESPN network has televised the league’s title game.


During the 2017-18 season, the Atlantic 10 Conference had seven women’s basketball teams qualify for postseason play. It was also the 15th time in the last 16 years that the A-10 has had multiple teams earn bids to the NCAA Tournament. George Washington defeated Saint Joseph’s in the 2018 Championship final at the Richmond Coliseum, earning the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The title was George Washington’s third championship in the last four years. The Colonials were joined in the NCAA Tournament by Dayton, who captured the league’s regular season title and made its eighth appearance in the NCAA Tournament in the last nine seasons.

More From A-10 Women's Basketball