Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

A-10 Leadership Summit to Convene in Washington with 28 Basketball Student-Athletes

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – The Atlantic 10 Conference will host its second annual Student-Athlete Leadership Summit Sept. 22-23 in Washington, bringing together 28 men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes, representing each of the 14 conference member institutions.

The two-day event will include sessions on self-evaluation, leadership mindset and habits, emotional intelligence, creating success plans, and creating a culture of teambuilding. A-10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade  will welcome the student-athletes and lead a session on leadership opportunities and career launch.

Former collegiate and NBA Championship coach Kevin Eastman will facilitate the seminar providing strategic instruction on leadership development and growth.  As the founder and director of Coaching U Live, Eastman is an enthusiastic mesmerizing motivational speaker who recently published “Why The Best Are The Best”.

 “The Leadership Summit is an opportunity for the Atlantic 10 to actively work with the best and brightest A-10 student-athletes as they develop lifetime skills and mature as strong leaders,” stated McGlade.  “Our initial Leadership Summit in 2017 was a huge success, so the athletic directors were anxious to support this endeavor.  Additionally, I am honored to have current George Washington Athletic Director Tanya Vogel, and former Richmond Athletic Director and current A-10 Executive Associate Commissioner, Keith Gill participating in this summit, sharing valuable lessons with each student.”

The participants will have the opportunity to interact with the presenters, as well as each other throughout the two days, culminating with Leadership Summit certification at the completion of the event.  A unique aspect of the summit is the opportunity for fierce competitors on the basketball court to come together united in their desire to become fierce leaders off the court.  

The student-athletes were selected by their head coaches include: Katie Turner and Kellan Grady of Davidson, Jayla Scaife and Ryan Mikesell of Dayton, Paige Cannon and Mike Lewis II of Duquesne, Bre Cavanaugh and Antwon Portley of Fordham, Jacy Bolton and Justin Kier of George Mason, Sarah Overcash and Justin Mazzulla of George Washington, Kate Hill and Traci Carter of La Salle, Hailey Leidel and Carl Pierre of Massachusetts, Erin Jones and Christon Thompson of Rhode Island, Alex Parson and Grant Golden of Richmond, Dajah Logan and Tshiefu Ngalakulondi of St. Bonaventure, Mary Sheehan and Charlie Brown of Saint Joseph’s, Tasia Jeffries and Hasahn French of Saint Louis and Taya Robinson and Marcus Santos-Silva of VCU.


More From A-10 Men's Basketball