Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

George Washington Takes Home Third Consecutive A-10 Men's Swimming and Diving Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Geneva, Ohio -- The George Washington Colonials captured their third consecutive Atlantic 10 Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship title on Saturday at the SPIRE Institute with a total of 782 Points, shattering six conference records along the way.

led by the Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year, Brian Thomas, the Colonials finished out day four with four first-place finishes. In the 1,650-yard freestyle, junior Moritz Fath, the Men’s Most Outstanding Performer, finished first with a time of 15:18.37 followed by teammates Josh Legge in second (15:23.95), and Dong Hyeon Hwang in third (15:34.60). In the Men’s 200-yard backstroke, junior Emils Pone took the top spot in a time of 1:43.95 while Andrew Cho took second in 1:44.34.

The Colonials pulled out another one-two-three finish in the men’s 100-yard freestyle. Alex Auster was first with a time of 44.10, Max Forstenhaeusler took second place in 44.40, and Patrick Lersch was third with a time of 44.61. To cap off an outstanding meet, the men’s 400 freestyle relay (Moritz, Auster, Forstenhaeusler, and Lersch) took one more gold-medal finish with a top time of 2:56.63.

George Mason finished second with 613 points. The Patriots finished day three with one second-place finish and three third-place finishes. The men’s 400-yard freestyle relay made up of Drake Moretz, Ryan Donnelly, Will Rastatter and Jacob Miller came in second behind George Washington. Donnelly finished third in the 200-yard backstroke (1:45.55), Michael Pettinichi finished third in the 200-yard breaststroke (1:59.11), and Dylan Peck finished third in the 200-yard butterfly.

St. Bonaventure was third in the men’s standings with 429 points. Hylton Collinson finished day four with a second place finish in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:59.06 for the Bonnies.

Trailing GW, Mason, and St. Bonaventure in the final standings were Davidson (398), La Salle (373), Massachusetts (346), Saint Louis (344), and Fordham (198).

In the 200-yard breaststroke, Saint Louis’ Collin O’Brien stood at the top of the podium finishing with a time of 1:58.73. La Salle’s Zachary Wolbert, the Men’s Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, finished first in the 200-yard butterfly in a new meet-record time of 1:46.86.

George Washington’s Peter Nachtwey was named Most Outstanding Diver after winning the 3-meter board and taking second in the 1-meter board.

George Mason’s Zach Hawley was named A-10 Diving Coach of the Year.


More From A-10 Swimming & Diving