Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Duquesne Takes Home Second Consecutive #A10SD Championship Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Geneva Ohio - The Duquesne Dukes took home the 2019 Atlantic 10 Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship for the second year in a row with a grand total of 580.5 points after four days of competition at the SPIRE Institute in Ohio.

The Dukes headed into day four with a very narrow lead over George Washington. Emma Brinton led the way early for Duquesne finishing second in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:57.67. Abby Stauffer took the top spot in the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:13.62, over four seconds ahead of the second place finisher. Morgan Smith was third in the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 2:01.82.

The George Washington women were second in the standings with 562 points. Andrea Moussier started the night for the Colonials with a first-place finish in the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:47.23. Gemma Atherley was third in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:58.93. Emily Zhang added to GW’s point total with a third-place finish in the 100-yard freestyle (50.07), and Jackie Torrez took home the gold in the 200-yard butterfly (1:59.13). The Colonials finished the night with a winning 400-yard freestyle relay time of 3:21.16 (Zhang, Caroline Racke, Rebecca Smolcic, and Atherly).

Fordham finished third in the final standings with 507.5 points. Tara Brunner took second for the Rams in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 49.74 seconds, and the 400-freestyle relay made up of Brunner, Michelle Martin, Caitlin McNary, and Theresa Mullen edged out Richmond to solidify the team’s third-place spot.

Behind Fordham in the standings were Richmond (505), Massachusetts (333), George Mason (256.5), La Salle (232.5), Davidson (222.5), St. Bonaventure (215), Saint Louis (181) and Rhode Island (91.5).

Richmond’s Hannah Gouger broke the meet record with her first-place time of 1:54.36 and was named the Women’s Most Outstanding Performer. In the 100-yard freestyle, Massachusetts’ Ansley Baker was first in 49.45 seconds.

University of Massachusetts’ Katie Polk was named Most Outstanding Diver after winning the 3-meter diving board in the day four finals. Umass’ Joshua Arndt was named Women's Diving Coach of the Year.

Duquesne’s Audrey Steen was named Most Outstanding Rookie, and DU head coach Dave Sheets was the Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year.


More From A-10 Swimming & Diving