Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

George Mason Claims Second A-10 Men's Indoor Track & Field Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

FAIRFAX, Va.— George Mason won its second Atlantic 10 Indoor Track & Field Championship in three years Sunday, dominating the field with 173 points at the George Mason Fieldhouse.

Last year’s champion Rhode Island scored 99 points to place second and VCU tallied 93.5 points with place third. There was one meet record broken over the two days of competition – VCU’s Ian Davis won the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 7.94, besting the previous record on 7.95 set in 2013 by Cordell Livingston.

George Mason won three events and had top three finishes in 10 other events. Rico Gomez, the meet’s Most Outstanding Track Performer, won the 200-meter dash with a time of 21.65 and the 500-meter dash with a time of 1:03.03. The Patriots' 4x400-meter relay team of Maurice Goode, Xavier King, Jr. Evander Pierre and Gomez won gold with a time of 3:16.91. Mason coach Andrew Gerard won his third Atlantic 10 Men’s Indoor Coach of the Year award. Patriots freshman Cason Gardner finished second in the high jump (2.04 meters) and the heptathlon (4,947 points) to claim Most Outstanding Rookie honors.

Rhode Island earned two event wins to place second. Thomas Vadis won the weight throw with a toss of 19.21 meters, and Andy Delasanta took gold in the 400-meter dash with a time of 48.49.

In addition to Davis, VCU had a first-place finish by Bashir Idris in the long jump with a distance of 7.09 meters. Idris also placed second in the triple jump with a leap of 15.20 meters to earn the championship’s Most Outstanding Field Performer. Jaekob Vollbrecht won gold for the Rams in the shot put with a throw of 17.09 meters, and JeVon Waller won the 60-meter dash with a time of 6.86.

La Salle’s Anthony Hawthorne won the 800 meters with a time of 1:53.08, while his teammate Nathan Gillis won the 1,000-meter run with a 2:26.51 time. The Explorers also won the 4x800-meter relay, with Nicholas Smart and Luke Jaciw-Zurakowsky joining Gillis and Hawthorne to register a time of 7:44.53. La Salle won a pair of field events, with Dennis Manyeah winning the high jump with a 2.07-meter leap and Darian Alston claiming gold in the triple jump with a distance of 15.20 meters. La Salle placed fourth with 88 points

Massachusetts’ Jonathan Collins won the heptathlon with 5,137 points, and his teammate Mason Lord was the pole vault champion with a vault of 4.91 meters. Saint Joseph’s Zachary Michon was the mile champion with a 4:13.03 time. The Hawks team of Jack Daly, Dylan Eddinger, Kris Edobi and John Walker also won the distance medley relay with a time of 10:03.62. Ryan Kutch of Fordham was the long-distance star of the meet, winning both the 3,000 meters and the 5,000 meters. Kutch clocked in at 8:26.17 in the 3,000 and 14:41.44 in the 5,000.

Saint Louis was fifth in the championship standings with 83.5 points, followed by Massachusetts with 75 points. Saint Joseph’s (63 points) and Fordham (62) were seventh and eighth respectively.

More From A-10 Track & Field