Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Longtime AP Writer Jack Scheuer Named Bob Vetrone Media Award Winner

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.— The Atlantic 10 Conference has named longtime Associated Press writer Jack Scheuer as its 2019 Bob Vetrone Media Award winner. Scheuer will be honored at the 2019 Atlantic 10 Men’s Basketball Championship at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y.

The award recognizes those whose service, professionalism and commitment have made a lasting contribution to its student-athletes and institutions. The Atlantic 10 instituted the award in 2006 to honor the memory of the late Bob Vetrone. Vetrone's involvement in basketball covered the spectrum, first as a sportswriter, then with the Big Five, and then as assistant sports information director at La Salle.

Scheuer covered Philadelphia college basketball for over 40 years for the Associated Press, and he has covered Atlantic 10 basketball since the 1982-83 season. One of the most beloved writers in the history of Philadelphia, having focused on the positive aspects of athletics. Scheuer also has coordinated, along with previous Vetrone Award winner Al Shrier, the former Herb Good Sportswriters Organization that has honored college players in Philadelphia for over 50 years

The award is a fitting one for Scheuer, who says that “Bob Vetrone was my mentor, broke me in, and became my closest friend ever.”

Prior recipients for the award include Vetrone (2006), veteran Providence Journal sportswriter Paul Kenyon (2007), longtime Temple SID Shrier (2008), Duquesne play-by-play announcer Ray Goss (2009), Dayton radio analyst Bucky Bockhorn (2010), Xavier play-by-play announcer Joe Sunderman (2011), longtime SIDs Doug Hauschild (Dayton - 2012) and Larry Dougherty (Saint Joseph’s and Temple – 2013) and Richmond Times-Dispatch stalwart John O’Connor (2014). Philadelphia Daily News writer Dick Jerardi (2015), Olean Times-Herald Sports Editor Chuck Pollock (2016), Mike Hartsock of WHIO in Dayton (2017) and longtime Dayton Daily News columnist Tom Archdeacon (2018) have won the last four awards.

More From A-10 Men's Basketball