Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

No. 1 UMass Advances to 12th Consecutive #A10WLAX Championship Final

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Fairfax, Va. – The top-seeded Massachusetts Minutewomen advanced to the 2019 Atlantic 10 Championship Final after a 20-11 semifinal victory over No. 4 Saint Joseph’s on Friday. This marks the 12th consecutive year UMass has made it to the championship game.

After a strong defensive effort from both teams in the first half, Massachusetts came back from a two-hour weather delay with unstoppable energy, outscoring the Hawks 12-6 in the second half.

Kiley Anderson, the A-10’s leading goal-scorer for the regular season, led the Minutewomen with a conference record-tying six goals and an assist to go with two ground balls and one caused turnover. Kaitlyn Cerasi added seven points of her own with four goals and three assists, while six other Minutewomen also tossed in goals. Lauren Hiller held off the Saint Joseph’s offense in goal with 13 saves.

The Hawks showed a strong defensive effort in the first half, but couldn’t hold off the historically dominant Minutewomen in the final 30 minutes. UMass held A-10 Player of the Year Francesca Donato to only two goals and no assists. Stephanie Kelly, Hayley Sabol, and Lauren Figura also added two goals each for the Hawks. Goalie Amber Weedon made 11 saves against the Minutewomen’s 20 goals.

With the loss, Saint Joseph’s falls to 11-8 on the season.

Massachusetts will face the winner of the second semifinal game on Sunday at noon at George Mason Stadium. The game will be streamed live on ESPN+.

More From A-10 Women's Lacrosse