Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Overtime Golden Goal Earns Richmond a Second Consecutive #A10WLAX Title

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

FAIRFAX, Va. – An overtime golden goal from Richmond’s Sam Geiersbach earned the Spiders their second consecutive Atlantic 10 Women’s Lacrosse Championship Title with a 19-18 victory over top-seeded Massachusetts.

After fighting back from a 12-8 halftime deficit, Madison Ostrick scored the game-tying goal with four seconds left in the second half to send the game into overtime. Geiersbach, the Championship Most Outstanding Player, was able to tip in a goal past UMass goalkeeper Lauren Hiller to get the win for the Spiders (17-3, 7-2 A-10).

All-Championship Team member Mia Castagnero led all goal scorers with six to go with two ground balls and three caused turnovers, while Marissa Brown had four goals, four assists, and a ground ball. Katie Sciandra added three more goals and an assist to go with two ground balls and a turnover.

Defensively, Julie Ball led the Spiders with three ground balls and two caused turnovers, while Megan Gianforte recorded 10 saves in goal. With the win, the Spiders earned the Atlantic 10 automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

Massachusetts won an NCAA record amount of draw controls despite the loss, led by Caitlyn Petro with 19. Kaitlyn Cerasi and Kiley Anderson each contributed five goals for the Minutewomen. Defensively, midfielder Stephanie Croke led UMass with a ground ball and two caused turnovers while Lauren Hiller had seven saves in the net.

With the loss, the Minutewomen fall to 15-4 on the season.

Joining Geiersbach and Castagnero on the All-Championship Team are Spider teammates Julie Ball, Marissa Brown, Megan Gianforte, and Katie Sciandra, Massachusetts’ Kiley Anderson, Kaitlyn Cerasi, Lauren Hiller, and Caitlyn Petro, and Saint Joseph’s Francesca Donato and Stephanie Kelly.

More From A-10 Women's Lacrosse