Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Benjamin, Stable, Rossi Headline #A10MTEN All-Conference Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — For the second straight year, Dayton senior Jordan Benjamin has been named the Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Most Outstanding Performer, while VCU freshman Rayane Stable has been named the Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, announced Monday following a vote by the league’s 12 head coaches. In the same vote, VCU’s Anthony Rossi was named Coach of the Year. 

Benjamin, the reigning A-10 Performer of the Year, is the fifth player in A-10 history to earn the award in back-to-back years and first since 2014-15 (Franciso Dias, GW). Following a magical 16-0 record last spring and a trip to the NCAA Singles Championship, the Fairport, N.Y., native netted a 15-5 dual match record at the top singles spot for the Flyers. The 2016 A-10 Rookie of the Year and four-time First Team All-Conference selection also finished the year with a 12-3 record in the top doubles slot. The senior was a perfect 2-0 in singles action at this year's A-10 semifinals, including a thrilling victory against VCU's Stable that kept the Flyers close in the match.

In his first year of collegiate action, Stable moved into the No. 1 singles position and finished with a 12-10 record this spring. The three-time A-10 Rookie of the Week's top victory came in exciting fashion as the Mouans Sartoux, France product defeated UNCW's Austin Hussey, ranked 125 by the ITA, in three sets to clinch the match for the Rams.

Rossi completed his first year at the helm for the Rams after being promoted from an assistant coach. He led VCU to a 16-10 overall record and an Atlantic 10 Championship title, defeating Duquesne, Dayton and Richmond along the way. VCU earned the A-10's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, where they eventually fell to Rossi's alma mater, #36 Kentucky in the first round, 4-1.

Joining Benjamin and Stable on the All-Conference First Team is UD teammate Langford Hills, Davidson’s Axel Fries, George Mason Eddie Ayers, George Washington freshmen Zicheng Zeng and Ryan Navarro, Richmond's Matthew Fernandez, Saint Joseph's Nathan Perrone, and from VCU, Inigo Torre Martin, Philip Mobius, and Arvid Noren.

The All-Conference Second Team consists of Davidson's Sam Kavarana and Yash Parikh, Dayton's Spencer Richey, Duquesne's Chris Corrao, Fordham's Max Green and Fabian Mauritzson, La Salle's Francesco Mowrey, Richmond's Klein Evans and George Lovitt, St. Bonaventure's Indra Patwardhan, Saint Joseph's Andre Fick and VCU's Inaki Rivero Crespo. 

The All-Academic team, which is voted on by the league’s sports information directors, includes Duquesne's Drew Akins, George Mason's Ayers and Giuliano Buzoianu, La Salle's Mowrey, St. Bonaventure's Patwardhan and VCU's Torre Martin.

More From A-10 Tennis