Atlantic 10 Conference Official Athletic Site

Richmond Wins A-10 Golf Championship for First Time in Program History

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

ORLANDO, Fla. — Richmond won its first-ever Atlantic 10 Men's Golf Championship Sunday, clinching the crown with a 24-under 840 (273-288-279) at Grand Cypress Golf Club.  The Spiders earn the Atlantic 10's automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Regionals.

Davidson's Jack Lang, who was also named All-Conference, took medalist honors, winning the championship with a 10-under 206 (70-68-68). Lang also earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals as an individvual.

Richmond's two freshmen, Zack Justice and Andrew Sciarretta tied for second place with VCU's Alister Balcombe with a seven-under 209. Justice (66-72-71) and Sciarretta (69-73-67) were the championship's Most Outstanding Rookies. Justice also took home the Rookie of the Year award, which was voted by the coaches based on the regular season.

Balcombe was the top finisher for VCU, which finished second with an 11-under 853 (279-290-284). The Rams had won the last three A-10 titles. It's the first-ever A-10 title for the Spiders, which finished second in each of the last three years. UR coach Adam Decker was named A-10 Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Both Richmond and Lang will learn which regional it will be awarded on Thursday, May 4 during the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Selection show on the Golf Channel.

Dayton finished in third, just behind VCU with an 854 (283-290-281), which was seven under. George Washington (273-299-289) and Davidson (285-299-286) rounded out the top five with an 861 and 870 respectively.  Dayton, Davidson, Rhode Island, Fordham and St. Bonaventure all improved their standing on the final day, with Rhody making the biggest jump, climbing three spots to sixth.

Richmond's Keegan Hoff and Matthew Lowe tied Dayton's Nick Paxson for fifth with a five-under 211. Paxson (71-71-69) and Matthew Lowe (70-70-71) were named All-Conference and Hoff (68-73-70) was named the Regular Season Player of the Year, as well as earning a spot on the All-Conference team.

Also earning a spot on the All-Conference team, which is voted on by the coaches based on the regular season and the championship, were George Mason's Eric Edwards, George Washington's Logan Lowe, Dawson Jones, Chris Houston and Billy Walthouse from Rhode Island and VCU's Jamie Clare.

This was the second straight year the A-10 Golf Championship was played at the Grand Cypress Golf Club. The teams played the par 72, 6,794-yard New Course. The championship was held as part of the Atlantic 10's Spring Championships Festival in Orlando with both the men's and women's tennis tournaments being contested at the USTA National Campus.

2017 Atlantic 10 Golf Awards

Jack Lang, DAV
Nick Paxson, UD
Eric Edwards, MASON
Logan Lowe, GW
Dawson Jones, URI
Chris Houston, URI
Billy Walthouse, URI
Matthew Lowe, UR
Keegan Hoff, UR
Jamie Clare, VCU

Rookie of the Year (Regular Season – New Award)
Zack Justice, UR

Golfer of the Year (Regular Season – New Award)
Keegan Hoff, UR

Most Outstanding Rookie (Championship)
Zack Justice, UR
Andrew Sciarretta, UR

Medalist/Most Outstanding Performer (Championship)
Jack Lang, DAV

Coach of the Year
Adam Decker


To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care