Atlantic 10 Conference Official Athletic Site

Benjamin, Torre Martin, Kostin Headline Major Men's Tennis Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — Dayton junior Jordan Benjamin and VCU freshman Inigo Torre Martin have been named the Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Most Outstanding Performer and Rookie Performer, respectively, which was announced Tuesday following a vote by the league’s 12 head coaches. In the same vote, VCU’s Paul Kostin was named Coach of the Year.


In dual matches, Benjamin, a Rochester, N.Y., product finished a perfect 16-0 (all at #1 singles). Against A-10 opponents this year, he was a perfect 7-0 in singles play. During the year, Benjamin reached a season-high ranking of 115 and defeated #88 Maik Steiner of Western Michigan. In the semifinals of the A-10 Men’s Tennis Championship matchup between Dayton and Davidson, the match came down to the final match between Benjamin and Davidson’s Khrapko, which Benjamin won to clinch the match for the Flyers.  Benjamin was selected to participate in the NCAA Singles Championship at Wake Forest.


Torre Martin, a five-time Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Week, spotted a 15-4 overall record at the No. 5 position in singles dual matches. The freshman from Bilbao, Spain had singles wins over William & Mary, UNCW, and Texas A&M Corpus Christi. Torre Martin also recorded doubles win against William & Mary, Penn State, and TAMUCC. Most recently, Torre Martin helped the Rams claim the Atlantic 10 Men’s Tennis Championship title and clinch a berth in the NCAA Tournament.


Kostin is now in his 28th season as the head coach of the Rams. This year he led VCU to 16-10 overall record and was a perfect 4-0 when facing Atlantic 10 competition. He led VCU to this year’s A-10 Men’s Tennis Title and an appearance in the NCAA Tournament.


Joining Benjamin on the All-Conference First Team is Davidson’s Artem Khrapko and Shamael Chaudhry, Dayton’s Zach Berry, Carsten Fisher, Duquesne’s Adam Blasinsky, George Washington’s Chris Reynolds, Richmond’s, Caleb Troy, Saint Joseph’s Tim Stierle, Saint Louis’ David Ferragut, and VCU’s Vitor Lima and Arvid Noren.


Joining Torre Martin on the All-Conference Second Team is Davidson’s Axel Fries, Duquesne’s Jared Isaacs, Fordham’s Max Green, George Mason’s Eddie Ayers, George Washington’s Chris Fletcher, Richmond’s James Aronson and Klein Evans, Saint Joseph’s Andre Fick, and Torre Martin’s teammates Javier Amantegui, Philip Mobius and Inaki Rivero Crespo.


The All-Academic team, which is voted on by the league’s sports information directors, included George Mason’s Ayers, La Salle’s Francesco Mowrey, Saint Joseph’s Stierle and Dan Tan, and VCU’s Noren and Rivero Crespo.

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care